Skinny Chicken Stroganoff

Skinny Chicken Stroganoff from Pampered Chef’s It’s Good for You is an old favorite at my house. It’s a delicious twist on beef stroganoff, and a few variations on the traditional ingredients keep it light.

I started by cooking 4 slices of bacon in a large skillet until crisp. I drained the bacon on a paper-towel-lined plate, crumbled it, and set it aside. (The actual recipe says to use turkey bacon, but I used what I had on hand.) I discarded the bacon fat and set the skillet aside for later use.

Next, I cooked 6 ounces (3 cups) of egg noodles according to package directions. I drained them, returned them to the pot, and covered them to keep them warm. While the noodles were cooking, I whisked together 3/4 cup of reduced-fat sour cream and 1/4 cup of flour in a small bowl. I gradually whisked in 1 can (14 ounces) of chicken broth until the mixture was smooth. I stirred in 1/4 teaspoon of salt and 1/8 teaspoon of black pepper and set the mixture aside.

I bought 8 ounces of pre-sliced mushrooms, so I got to skip the slicing there. I used my food chopper to chop 1 medium onion (1 cup), and then I sliced 1 pound of chicken into 1/4-inch strips. I heated the skillet I used to cook the bacon over high heat and cooked the chicken, tossing constantly, until it was no longer pink (about 4 minutes). I removed the chicken from the skillet, put it on a plate, and covered it with foil to keep it warm.

I reduced the skillet heat to medium and added the mushrooms, onion, and 1 pressed garlic clove. (Minced garlic is fine if you don’t have a garlic press.) I cooked and stirred the mixture for 3 minutes. Next, I returned the chicken and the bacon crumbles to the skillet. I stirred in the sour cream mixture and brought it to a boil. I reduced the heat to medium and simmered the mixture for 3 minutes, stirring constantly. Finally, I stirred in 2 tablespoons of snipped fresh parsley and served the mixture over the egg noodles.

skinny_chicken_stroganoff.jpg

This dish is really flavorful – I make it again and again. It’s a nice, healthy way to start the new year as well!

TIPS: One of the reasons this dish is light is because the noodle portions aren’t very large. The recipe serves 6, so each person gets 1/2 cup of noodles (measured before cooking). If you want to stretch things a bit, just make more noodles.

Recipe link: Skinny Chicken Stroganoff

0 Responses to “Skinny Chicken Stroganoff”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 545 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 545 other followers

