Creamy Orange Shake

Did anyone out there ever go to Orange Julius at the mall? (Perhaps you still do?) It was always such a treat when I was growing up. My nostalgia drove me to try the Creamy Orange Shake recipe from the January/February 2004 issue of Everyday Food.

This one isn’t on the Web, so here are the ingredients:

1/2 cup fresh orange juice (from 1 – 2 oranges)
1/4 cup milk
1 tablespoon sugar
1 cup ice cubes

Just throw everything in the blender and blend until the mixture is smooth and frothy. (This took about 2 minutes on the “liquefy” setting for me.) I served mine in tall Tom Collins glasses.

creamy_orange_shake.jpg

This recipe actually only serves one person, but I doubled it so Dr. O and I could each have one. The flavor and texture isn’t quite like an Orange Julius, but it’s a refreshing and healthy way to start the day. If you want to step up the presentation, garnish each glass with an orange wheel. (This occurred to me, of course, after all of my oranges were squeezed and in the trash can.) :)

TIPS: I’ve consistently found that Everyday Food‘s smoothie-type recipes tend to run on the not-so-sweet side. I’ll probably double the sugar or add honey to sweeten things up a bit more next time.

1 Response to “Creamy Orange Shake”


  1. 1 ecline217 January 17, 2008 at 2:08 am

    I tried this one last night and turned out yummy. I actually forgot the sugar but still had a lite natural sweetness to it. I am freezing Apple Juice in ice cube trays to use that for the ice tonight. You have me on a shake kick now!! Thanks for sharing your meals/drinks with everyone.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 546 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 546 other followers

