Chocolate-Covered Bananas

Dr. O and I made a yummy and super-easy treat last night – Chocolate-Covered Bananas. The recipe is from the March 2006 issue of Everyday Food, but it’s so simple that you hardly need one.

I started out with the intention of making a half recipe. I put about a half-inch of water in a small saucepan and brought it to a simmer. I “created” a double boiler by nesting a small bowl inside the saucepan, making sure the bottom didn’t actually touch the water. (See Chocolate Orange Fondue for more double boiler info.) I put 4 ounces (4 squares) of semisweet Baker’s chocolate in the bowl and then stirred until it was melted. I removed the bowl of chocolate from the saucepan and set it aside.

Next, I put 4 tablespoons of peanuts in my food chopper and coarsely chopped them. (You could use a knife or pound them in a zip-top bag if you don’t have a chopper.) I peeled my banana, cut it into thirds, and stuck a popsicle stick into each piece. I spooned and spread chocolate over each banana piece and then sprinkled the chopped peanuts over the chocolate.

I finished my first 3 banana pieces and it was evident that I had enough chocolate and peanuts left to do 3 more. Good thing I had another banana! When all the pieces were finished, I put the bananas on a plate, covered them, and refrigerated them until the chocolate was firm. (This took 30 minutes, even though the recipe says 20.)

chocolate_covered_bananas.jpg

These were so simple, but so good. The chocolate got firm but not crispy, which was nice because all the topping probably would’ve fallen off with that first bite otherwise. This is definitely one of those recipes where it would be fun to experiment with different kinds of chocolate. Different kinds of nuts (pistachios? walnuts?) could be really good too.

TIPS: When you put these on a plate to cool, be sure to line the plate with parchment or wax paper first. I forgot (oops!) and some of my chocolate stuck to the plate.

Recipe link (and video): Chocolate-Covered Bananas

1 Response to “Chocolate-Covered Bananas”


  1. 1 Sandra from Brazil going bananas December 12, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    Loved the idea, gonna do it, thanx a lot!!!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 544 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 544 other followers

