Pan-Seared Steak

I didn’t actually cook last night – we were out celebrating Dr. O’s birthday at our current Dallas favorite, The Porch (aka Heaven!). Homestyle mac ‘n cheese, braised short-rib stroganoff, Ecuadorian mahi-mahi, pear-ginger cobbler… Talk about food bliss. Plus, no dirty dishes!

If we *had* stayed in, though, it definitely would’ve been a steak night. I’ve been practicing with a particular recipe – Pan-Seared Steak from the April 2007 issue of Everyday Food – and I think I have it down pretty well at this point. Here’s a rundown of last week’s attempt.

I started by heating 1 tablespoon of oil in my cast-iron skillet (you don’t want to use a nonstick skillet here) over medium-high until it started to smoke. I patted a 1 1/2-pound boneless rib-eye steak (about 2 1/2 inches thick) dry with paper towels and seasoned each side with 1 teaspoon coarse salt and 1 teaspoon cracked pepper.

I cooked the steak in the skillet until a dark crust formed, about 5 minutes per side. When both sides had browned, I used tongs to hold the steak to brown all the edges. I laid the steak back in the skillet.

Next, I transferred the skillet to the oven and roasted the steak for about 12 minutes at 400F. (The recipe gives a range of 5 – 15 minutes, depending on how you like your steak cooked.) Meanwhile, I mashed together 4 tablespoons of room-temperature butter, 2 tablespoons of chopped fresh parsley, 1 minced garlic clove, and some salt and pepper to make some garlic-herb steak butter.

I used my digital thermometer fork – as always! – to make sure the steak had reached an appropriate temperature when the 12 minutes had passed. I transferred the steak to a cutting board, spread it with 1 tablespoon of the steak butter, and covered it loosely with aluminum foil. I let it rest for about 10 minutes, sliced it across the grain, and served it with the rest of the steak butter.

pan_seared_steak1.jpg
pan_seared_steak.jpg

For better or for worse, the steak butter really makes this dish. If you follow the recipe link, there are two other steak butter variations – blue cheese and horseradish-mustard, though I’m sure you could get creative with just about any combination of ingredients.

Both boneless rib-eyes that I’ve purchased so far have been a bit fatty around the edges, but the meat is delicious. Just be ready to trim a bit. Both have also been tapered cuts, which is actually kind of nice if one person wants medium or medium-well meat and one wants something rarer. The smaller side will cook faster.

TIPS: The recipe link gives a nice diagram of what the steak temperature should be when you remove it from the skillet, depending on how you’d like it cooked. (The temperature will rise 5 – 10 degrees while it rests under the foil.) I took mine out at 125 degrees for medium-rare.

Recipe link: Pan-Seared Steak

3 Responses to “Pan-Seared Steak”


  1. 1 Sir Beef a lot April 14, 2011 at 2:34 am

    Love these recipes. This one is pretty creative. We believe in starting with quality so that you end up with quality. Too many hormones in supermarket beef. I wonder how much better this recipe would be with fresh meat straight from the farm. hmm


  1. 1 So Good Blog/News Round-Up 3/28/08 | So Good Trackback on March 28, 2008 at 9:05 pm
  2. 2 Quick and Easy Valentine’s Day Recipes « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 10, 2010 at 8:09 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 546 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 546 other followers

