Green Bean, Ham, and Cheese Frittata

With the exception of tomorrow’s Request Line post, I’ve decided that I’m going to dedicate this week to my very favorite meal – breakfast. If everything goes as planned, we’ll take a look at a frittata, some muffins, a smoothie, a “cereal,” and a strata (though not necessarily in that order!). I’ll kick things off with one of the best frittata recipes I’ve encountered – Green Bean, Ham, and Cheese Frittata from the April 2006 issue of Everyday Food.

I started by prepping my ingredients. I trimmed 1 pound of green beans and cut them into 1-inch pieces, cut 1/2 pound of thinly sliced deli ham into thin strips, sliced 2 bunches of scallions into 1-inch pieces, and shredded 4 ounces (1 cup) of Fontina cheese. I heated 2 teaspoons of olive oil in a 10-inch ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat and then added the green beans, scallions, and ham. (The skillet was pretty full.) I covered the skillet and cooked, stirring occasionally, until the green beans were crisp-tender (about 6 minutes).

In a large bowl, I whisked together 8 large eggs, the shredded cheese, 1 teaspoon of coarse salt, and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. I added the mixture to the skillet, tilted to distribute it evenly, and then pressed down on top of the vegetables with a spatula to make sure they were covered. I let the frittata cook without stirring until the edges were slightly set, about 1 minute.

Next, I transferred the frittata to the oven and baked it at 350F until the center was set (about 25 minutes). I cut the frittata into 6 wedges to serve it.

green_bean_frittata.jpg

Yum, yum, yum. This frittata is just *chock full* of tasty ingredients. I especially love the green beans. I’ve made this a few times, but this is the first time I actually used Fontina cheese. I have to say that I think I like it better with shredded cheddar. I couldn’t really taste the Fontina (it’s pretty mild), and what’s the point of including cheese if you can’t taste it?

TIPS: The skillet I use for this dish is 10 inches wide and 2 inches deep; it’s no joke that it’s pretty full when the green beans, scallions and ham are added. I usually lose a few bits and pieces when I (very gently) stir during the first cooking step.

As always, make sure your skillet is ovenproof before you stick it in the oven. :) My frittata pan is just a “cheapie” from Target, similar to this one.

1 Response to “Green Bean, Ham, and Cheese Frittata”



  1. 1 Apple and Cheddar Frittata « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 2, 2010 at 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 545 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 545 other followers

