Apple and Cheddar Frittata

Frittata is one of my favorite dishes to make because (1) it’s typically delicious, and (2) the hands-on time tends to be short because the majority of the cooking time is spent in the oven. I’ve posted a few frittatas (or is it “frittate”?) on the blog so far (Cream Cheese Frittata and Green Bean, Ham, and Cheese Frittata). I decided to give the idea of fruit in a frittata a whirl with the Apple and Cheddar Frittata recipe from the May 2007 issue of Everyday Food.

First, I prepped my apples. I peeled and cored 2 Gala apples and then sliced them lengthwise into 1/8-inch pieces. (If you want to keep them from browning, you can toss them with a bit of lemon juice, but they’ll be concealed beneath a layer of cheese anyway.)

Next, I whisked together 8 eggs, 2 large egg whites, and 1/2 cup of grated white cheddar cheese in a medium bowl. I seasoned the mixture with salt and pepper and set it aside.

In a medium nonstick ovenproof skillet, I heated 1 tablespoon of butter over medium heat. Once the butter had melted, I added the egg mixture. Working quickly (allow 1 – 2 minutes total), I arranged the apple slices on top of the egg mixture in a circular pattern, starting from the outside edge. I sprinkled the apples with 1/2 cup of grated white cheddar cheese and transferred the skillet to the oven. (Make sure the rack is in the top third of the oven.) I baked the frittata at 450F until it was set in the center and the cheese had browned, 15 minutes. I cut it into 4 wedges to serve.

Apple and Cheddar Frittata

Normally, I would’ve cut the frittata into 6 wedges, but I was unusually hungry. A smaller slice might make for better plate presentation than the monster above. :)

This was a really delicious frittata. The apples added a hint of sweetness, and the way the cheese crusted around the edges was *divine*. I’ll definitely make this again.

TIPS: When arranging the apples on top of the egg mixture, overlap them a bit to help get them all in. If you place them flat with edges touching, you’ll have 3 or 4 times too many slices for the space available.

Also, keep an eye on the frittata while it bakes. The recipe actually calls for 20 minutes of baking time, but my frittata was set and browned at 15.

Recipe link: Apple and Cheddar Frittata

3 Responses to “Apple and Cheddar Frittata”


  1. 1 Jennifer D July 22, 2008 at 8:13 am

    ANOTHER hit, Jenn! I have to admit that I was a frittata virgin :) Where have I been? It was outstanding – can’t wait to try the 100 variations going through my head.

    Did your ‘crust’ get a little brown/tough? I think the bottom was overcooked, but the rest was done perfectly. What do you find is the case when you make these?

  2. 2 jfochek July 22, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Hey! I’m so excited that you tried it. My “crust” hasn’t turned out tough, no… Did you bake it in the top third of the oven, or was your rack more central or low? I’ve also had things overcook on the bottom when I’ve used glass dishes in the oven (though I doubt you have a glass skillet, hehe!). Maybe next time melt the butter and do the initial stove top egg cooking over medium-low… That might make the apple placing a bit less frantic too.

  3. 3 Engaged in Tallahassee May 17, 2009 at 5:00 am

    Thanks very much for this recipe! My fiancee made this last night and it was terrific. (Being a considerate fiance, I helped by slicing the apples.) Thanks to you, there are two more frittata junkies in North Florida. :-)


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 545 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 545 other followers

