Grilled Greek Chicken Kebabs with Mint-Feta Sauce

I don’t know if I’ve been *this* excited to go to the grocery store for a long time. Between the planned travel last weekend and the unplanned travel this week, my refrigerator is looking pretty sad and empty. (Apparently, Chipotle and Arby’s are acceptable substitutes for my fine home cooking when I’m away, but Dr. O does get points for buying milk and apples, hehe.) Today’s recipe – Grilled Greek Chicken Kebabs with Mint-Feta Sauce from the May 2008 issue of Everyday Food – is actually something I made last week but didn’t have time to write about. Marinating the meat takes a little extra time, but this is an ideal meal for a Saturday or Sunday night.

First, I prepped my ingredients. I cut 1 pound of boneless, skinless chicken thighs into 24 1-inch pieces, halved 1 zucchini lengthwise and then cut it crosswise into 16 1-inch pieces, and quartered half of a small red onion and separated the layers. (You should have at least 16 pieces of onion.) In a large, resealable plastic bag, I combined the chicken, zucchini, onion, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 teaspoon of dried oregano, 2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. I marinated the chicken and vegetables overnight in the refrigerator, but you can marinate it for 30 minutes at room temperature if you’re short on time.

Just before I was ready to put the kebabs together, I soaked 8 6-inch wooden skewers in water for 15 minutes to ensure they wouldn’t burn. When the skewers were ready, I alternately threaded them with 3 pieces of chicken, 2 pieces of zucchini, and 2 pieces of onion. (You can see in the picture I went chicken-zucchini-onion-chicken-zucchini-onion-chicken.) I grilled them in my grill pan over medium heat, turning occasionally, until the chicken was cooked through (about 12 minutes).

While the kebabs cooked, I made the mint-feta sauce. I used my Cuisinart Mini-Prep food processor to blend 1/2 cup of crumbled feta, 1/4 cup of plain low-fat yogurt, 1 cup of fresh mint leaves, and 1 tablespoon of red-wine vinegar until smooth. I served the kebabs with the dipping sauce.

Grilled Greek Chicken Kebabs with Mint-Feta Sauce

I was so excited to get such great grill marks from my trusty old grill pan! These kebabs were really delicious, and I *love* the sauce. (Next time, though, I do think I’ll take the Everyday Food tip and make the sauce with Greek yogurt. It’s more expensive, but it’s so thick and creamy.) I can just see these as a terrific addition to a backyard summer barbecue.

TIPS: If you want to serve this recipe to more than 4 people, you could grill the first batch of kebabs and keep them warm on a baking sheet in a 200F oven. Just multiply the ingredients to cover the number of batches you want to make. If you’re lucky enough to have a huge grill (or a 2-burner grill pan), you might be able to turn them all out at the same time.

Recipe link: Grilled Greek Chicken Kebabs with Mint-Feta Sauce

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 545 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 545 other followers

