Mexican Frittata

I’m a bit of a frittata freak, I’ll admit it. I love their versatility – they’re great for breakfast *or* dinner (or even brunch or lunch, I suppose) – and every recipe I’ve tried so far has produced delicious results. The July/August 2008 issue of Everyday Food has a recipe for Mexican Frittata, so I just had to try it. I was especially curious to see how an “oven-free” frittata would turn out since all of my other recipes start on the stove top and finish in the oven.

This one isn’t on the Web site, so here are the ingredients:

10 large eggs
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 bell peppers (ribs and seeds removed), thinly sliced
1 medium red onion, halved and thinly sliced
1 cup shredded white cheddar (4 ounces)
1/2 cup store-bought salsa, for serving

In a medium bowl, I whisked the eggs with 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. In a 10-inch nonstick skillet with a tight-fitting lid, I heated the olive oil over medium-high heat. I added the bell peppers and onion, seasoned with salt and pepper, and cooked, stirring frequently, until the vegetables were softened (6 minutes).

I added the eggs and cooked, stirring frequently with a heat-proof rubber spatula, until they were thickened (1 minute). I sprinkled the cheese over the egg and vegetable mixture, covered the skillet, and reduced the heat to medium-low. I cooked the frittata for 15 minutes and removed it from the heat. I let it stand, covered, for 5 minutes before serving it topped with salsa.

This is another terrific frittata recipe. It was bursting with peppers, gooey with cheese on top, and the texture was perfect – firm but still plenty moist. I was really apprehensive about cooking the frittata entirely on the stove top… I thought maybe the bottom would burn or it wouldn’t cook through. It’s good to be wrong. :)

The only negative is that the cheese didn’t get crusty on top since there wasn’t any oven time. On a cool day, I might stick this under the broiler for 1 – 2 minutes to finish it off.

TIPS: Resist the temptation to take a peek while the frittata is cooking. You’ll let essential heat escape if you lift the skillet lid.

2 Responses to “Mexican Frittata”


  1. 1 Joanne Estes October 12, 2008 at 2:49 am

    You forgot to include how many people this recipe will serve.

  2. 2 jfochek October 12, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Hi, Joanne! The recipe was written for four servings, though that means each person gets a pretty large wedge. I usually cut a frittata of this size into six wedges. It just depends on the side dishes you’re serving (if any) and how large of a portion you’d like.

    Thanks for your comment!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 546 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 546 other followers

