Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Traditional British Pudding

The April 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Esther of The Lilac Kitchen. She challenged everyone to make a traditional British pudding using, if possible, a very traditional British ingredient: suet.

_________________________

For starters, there’s no suet to be found here in Denver.  (I briefly considered ordering some from Amazon.com but then decided it would be just another thing to sit in my pantry after the project was finished.)  Thankfully, it was permissible for us to use other types of fat.  I decided to use lard since I had some in my pantry (I know, I know) and I settled on the Syrup Pudding recipe since I had brought some Lyle’s Golden Syrup back from London in February.

The pros:

  • This type of dessert is really pretty easy to make.  I actually completely forgot about the deadline until I saw my foodie friend Stephanie’s go up at Per l’Amore del Cibo.  (Thanks for the inadvertent reminder!)  Less than three hours later, my project was complete.

The cons:

  • Mine ended up being pretty disgusting, which isn’t a term I use lightly.  I didn’t have the foresight to cut my lard into tiny pieces before I incorporated it into the batter, so there are seriously spotty lard sections throughout my cake.  Blech.  I’ve had traditional puddings in Australia and Britain that I’ve enjoyed immensely, so I’m pretty sure that I’m the problem here (not the dessert).
  • The recipe mentioned that the boiling water may need to be replaced periodically.  I forgot this part until I could smell my pan burning at the 1:45 mark.  Oops.  Now I’m Googling tips for rescuing my pot.
Traditional British Syrup Pudding

It looks good, but don't be fooled!

Oh, well.  You can’t win them all, right?  Failing now and again only makes the successes sweeter.

Thanks for the challenge anyway, Esther!

Recipe link: Traditional British Pudding

7 Responses to “Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Traditional British Pudding”


  1. 1 Mary April 28, 2010 at 1:47 am

    You’re right–it does look really good! Not too sure about those lardy spots though!

  2. 2 Shelley April 28, 2010 at 6:18 am

    I am so sorry about your pot, but way to pull that one out at the end! Your pudding looks and sounds good… I bet next time it will taste like you want it to, too! Great job with the challenge.

  3. 4 Audax Artifex April 28, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Well at least you know where you went wrong that is always a great thing and sorry to hear about the pot I hope you can fix it somehow. But it does look great. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  4. 5 Sinful Southern Sweets April 28, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    Sorry about your pot! But your pudding looks great!!

  5. 6 Stephanie April 28, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Oh no, Jen! It seems like the challenge was against you this month, huh? Way to give it a go at the last minute…and your picture does make it look quite tasty! Sorry it turned out crappy, but maybe next time. At least it was an easy challenge!

  6. 7 fulltimefoodie April 29, 2010 at 5:00 am

    I’m sorry about your pot but the pudding looks delicious. It’s only a matter of time before I break something during one of these challenges. I’m a clutz.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 540 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 540 other followers

