Chickpea Burgers (aka My Very First Post!)

With the encouragement of friends and an angel I met at Central Market, I’ve decided to chronicle my food adventures. Most of my posts will be about what’s cooking in my kitchen, and that’s usually a recipe from my huge collection of Everyday Food magazines. Other favorites include Joy of Cooking, Jamie Oliver’s books, and even Kraft’s quarterly publications. I’m always looking for new recipes… Send me your favorites!

So last night I whipped up a recipe I’ve tried once before – Chickpea Burgers from the July/August 2003 issue of Everyday Food. The burgers are a fantastic option for our vegetarian friends, though my meat-loving husband enjoys them as well. I think you could even make them gluten-free if you used gluten-free bread.

Anyway, I combined chickpeas, scallions, sandwich bread, peanuts, cumin and ginger in my food processor to make what essentially amounts to hummus patties. They don’t look very appetizing at this point:

Chickpea burger patties

Grills work miracles, though. Unfortunately, I don’t own one (yet). Chalk it up to apartment living. I DO have a fabulous All-Clad grill pan, thankfully. A little olive oil, medium-high heat, and four minutes on each side later, things are looking considerably more delicious:

Finished chickpea burger

Aside from the fact that these burgers are yummy, I love how quickly they can be made. Cooking time is under 10 minutes, and you could make the patties ahead of time and store them in the refrigerator.

TIPS: Last time I made these, I used almonds instead of peanuts. I think I like the almond flavor a bit better. Also, make sure you use a decent-sized food processor or even a blender. I love my Cuisinart Mini-Prep (and the friend who bought it for me!), but this recipe really needs more than a 3-cup capacity bowl.

Recipe link: Chickpea Burgers

3 Responses to “Chickpea Burgers (aka My Very First Post!)”


  1. 1 christophermgomez October 31, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    I’m jealous of the All-Clad grill pan. I’ll bet it’s wonderful. Welcome to the blogosphere. I’m so excited for you.

    One last thing, it just so happened that I started reading your post while one of my favorite “cooking” songs of the moment was playing on my iPod. It’s called “Hello Eugene” by Pink Martini. I just had to share that.

  2. 2 Kari November 1, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    Yay!! Beautiful Chef Jenny has a food blog!! I love this veggie burger idea!! Glad to know that it also agrees with carnivores, then maybe I can get Jason on board. Can’t wait for the next “Frozenbaugh” outing (your husband came up with that nickname, he he he)!! 🙂

  3. 3 Carissa November 2, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Hey I will try this recipe. I like to cook as well. Being a vegan I’m always looking for something new to make at home. Congrats on the blog.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


