Oatmeal Bar

Dr. O really likes to sleep in on the weekends. I’ve developed the (unfortunate?) habit of waking up around the same time every day, regardless of whether there’s work to be done. (This would be how I managed to look through every single one of Dianne’s scrapbooks the morning after the tequila party. That was a lonely two hours.)

Anyway, my “get-up-and-go” usually translates into Saturday and/or Sunday morning breakfast. Today, I went with an old favorite – simple, old-fashioned oatmeal. This really doesn’t even involve a recipe. Bob’s Red Mill Extra Thick Rolled Oats are my preference. I pick them up at Central Market, but I’m pretty sure you can find them at Wild Oats, Whole Foods, and sometimes even Super Target. For two people, you just bring 2 cups of water and 1/4 teaspoon of salt to a boil, add the oats, reduce the heat to medium, and let them cook for about 15 minutes. When that’s done, I just remove them from the heat, cover them, and let them sit for about 2 – 3 minutes before serving.

Dr. O and I usually like different things on our oatmeal, so I serve it “bar” style. Today, I put out dried cherries, honey, toasted almonds, brown sugar, and milk, but I also like raisins, cinnamon, dried cranberries, bananas, etc. It was a simple, delicious, and inexpensive start to the day.

oatmeal_bar.jpg

TIPS: The length of time you cook the oatmeal really depends on whether you like it thick or thin. I cook it until I get a decent sizzle sound when I stir things up from the bottom. If you overdo it, you can always add milk when you serve it to thin things out a bit.

Bob’s Red Mill: http://www.bobsredmill.com/company.php

1 Response to “Oatmeal Bar”


  1. 1 Kevin November 5, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    This used to be my college staple every weekday morning (with an egg over hard on the side; yolk broken)! It was sometime after the great Texas move that I made the switch to my world famous Campbells chicken noodle soup morning special. Now I occassionaly enjoy a bowl of oatmeal with a sliced banana and raisins on the weekends; yummy!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


