All-American Baked Potatoes

Get ready, ye who fear the kitchen… It rarely gets easier (and yummier) than this.

For me, baked potatoes invariably taste better when I eat out. Why? Because they’re BAKED. I grew up on microwaved potatoes, which make complete sense when time is at a premium. Oven time is essential, though, for soft, evenly cooked potatoes. Crispy skins are an added bonus.

Last night, I made All-American Baked Potatoes from the September 2007 issue of Everyday Food. I started by scrubbing my potatoes, pricking them all over with a fork, and then rubbing them with olive oil and salt. (I like Morton’s Coarse Kosher Salt best.) While they baked for an hour at 400 F, I cubed a quarter pound of ham (2 minutes), thawed a cup of frozen peas (2 minutes), and conned Dr. O into shredding the Monterey Jack (0 minutes).

When the hour was up, I cut a cross into each potato, pushed the sides together, and topped them off:

all_american_baked_potato2.jpg

Holy smokes, these potatoes were good. Add a side salad, and dinner is done. The recipe in the magazine actually has three other flavor combinations – Scandinavian, Tex-Mex, and Italian – and they all look fantastic. Let me know if you try one!

TIPS: Whenever I need to cube ham for a recipe, I ask the person at the deli counter at my grocery store to cut one thick slice, shooting for the amount (weight) of meat I need. If you tell them you plan to cube it, they usually get the idea.

Recipe link: All-American Baked Potatoes

3 Responses to “All-American Baked Potatoes”


  1. 1 Sam November 8, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    Well that’s settled. I’ll be making potatoes tonight.

    Keep ’em coming!


  1. 1 Bow Ties with Peas and Ham « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on December 4, 2007 at 5:17 am
  2. 2 Tex-Mex Baked Potatoes « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on January 17, 2008 at 5:30 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


