Almond Fruit Bars

When Dr. O started his job last June, we thought it would be a nice gesture to send treats for the ladies in the office. They were pretty well received, so I try to put something together at least every few weeks.

This time, Dr. O had promised to bring dessert for yesterday’s staff meeting. I was a bit crunched for time, so I looked for a recipe with three characteristics: (1) I had made it before, (2) I had the ingredients on hand, and (3) it was something most people would enjoy. Almond Fruit Bars from the September 2003 issue of Everyday Food made the grade.

The ingredient list is pretty simple – butter, flour, cinnamon, salt, baking powder, brown sugar, regular sugar, an egg yolk, sliced almonds, and fruit jam. We keep sliced almonds for salads, so I had a brand-new bag, thankfully.

I started by combining the flour, cinnamon, salt, and baking powder in a bowl, which I then set aside. Next, I creamed the butter and sugar with a hand mixer, and then added the egg yolk, followed by the flour mixture. The almonds were stirred in last.

I pressed half the dough into the bottom of an 8-inch square buttered baking dish and then gently spread 1/2 cup of whisked strawberry jam over the top. (The whisking loosens the jam and makes it easier to spread.) I sprinkled the rest of the dough over the top of the jam and gently pressed it down to form the top layer. This is how things looked pre-oven:

almond_fruit_bars1.jpg

After 25 minutes at 350 F, the bars were done. I let them cool in the pan and cut them for serving:

almond_fruit_bars2.jpg

Basically, these bars are just buttery, crumbly goodness with a little fruit filling. I really like them. Dr. O didn’t bring any leftovers home, so I’m hoping the folks in the office liked them too. 🙂

Cut into 16 bars, the servings are a bit small. I think that makes them nice for a sampler platter or a potluck-type situation, where people may want to try more than one thing. You could always cut them into larger bars if you wanted. (One taste, and you might!)

TIPS: You can use any flavor of jam you’d like with this recipe. Cherry is my favorite, but I think raspberry or apricot would be really delicious too.

Also, I would recommend keeping an eye on these when you get close to the end of the baking time. My oven tends to cook things quickly and my instincts told me to take these out at 23 minutes instead of 25. I should have listened. If the edges are allowed to brown too much, they get pretty crispy. I ended up doing a little trimming.

Recipe link: Almond Fruit Bars

(Added bonus – this link has a video!)

2 Responses to “Almond Fruit Bars”


  1. 1 Lisa Cothran November 9, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    Jen,

    If only I still had as much time to experiment with cooking. I do so enjoy it! The girls have made it a bit harder to devote that much time to it and coming up with new and EASY recipes gets to be more difficult with each passing day. Most of these look delicious and easy. I’ll have to try some of them out on the family and for our dinner club. Keep the recipes coming.

    Lisa


  1. 1 Super Bowl Snacks: Past Posts « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 2, 2010 at 12:30 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


