Jumbo Oatmeal-Raisin Cookies

Dr. O took a little trip to Oklahoma City this week. He planned to stay with a friend, and we thought it would be nice to send treats. The friend – we’ll call him “POTP” – requested oatmeal-raisin cookies.

I don’t think I’ve made oatmeal-raisin cookies since we moved to Dallas, so I went to my dessert spreadsheet to see what was available, recipe-wise. After passing over Healthy Oatmeal Cookies (for the serial oatmeal cookie eater, I’m sure!), Oatmeal Date Cookies, and Chocolate-Raisin Oatmeal Cookies, I made my choice – Jumbo Oatmeal-Raisin Cookies. I had never heard of an oatmeal-raisin cookie with coconut in the ingredient list, and I was intrigued.

I started by whisking together the flour, baking soda and salt. I set that aside and then creamed the butter (two sticks – gasp!) with some brown sugar and regular sugar. The eggs and vanilla came next, and then I beat in the flour mixture just until everything was combined. (You don’t want to overmix.) Finally, I added the oats, raisins, and coconut, beating again just until combined.

The recipe says to drop level 1/4-cup measures of the dough onto baking sheets. Lucky me – I have an ice-cream scoop that holds exactly 1/4 cup. So I used that to scoop and drop my dough onto two baking sheets, 10 cookies per sheet.

jumbo_oatmeal_raisin_cookie_dough.jpg

I have four rack notches in my oven, so I put my racks on the middle two. One baking sheet went on each rack for 9 minutes at 350 F. I then switched the sheets (top to bottom, back to front) and put the cookies in for another 9 minutes. I let them cool 5 minutes on the baking sheets and then transferred them all to two cooling racks.

OH. MY. GOSH.

jumbo_oatmeal_raisin_cookies.jpg

These cookies are soooooooo good. Like, “you could sell them” good. They’re pretty big (about the size of my palm), slightly crisp on the edges, and perfectly soft and buttery on the inside. With the exception of the Doughmonkey cookies here in Dallas and our friend Anne’s Monster Cookies, I don’t know that it gets much better than this.

TIPS: I always line my baking sheets with parchment paper when I make cookies, unless the recipe specifically says to place the dough directly on the baking sheet. It makes cleanup a breeze, and the cookie bottoms tend to brown very evenly. Also, I use the “rotate the baking sheets” technique mentioned in this recipe often, whether my recipe says to or not. The back of the oven tends to be hotter than the front, so this contributes to even cooking as well.

Bonus! You can freeze the dough scoops and bake the cookies individually if you don’t want 20 of them sitting around the house. Hallelujah.

Recipe link: Jumbo Oatmeal-Raisin Cookies

3 Responses to “Jumbo Oatmeal-Raisin Cookies”


  1. 1 carlahoag December 9, 2009 at 3:40 am

    They sounds wonderful. I think I’ll try them.

    Thanks for sharing it.


  1. 1 Cranberry-Orange Scones « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on November 19, 2007 at 12:01 am
  2. 2 Super Bowl Snacks: Past Posts « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 2, 2010 at 12:30 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


