Pineapple Parfait

I had some shredded coconut on hand from baking those AMAZING oatmeal-raisin cookies last week, so I thought it would be fun to make something else with coconut. I found a great one-person recipe – Pineapple Parfait from the March 2005 issue of Everyday Food – that fit the bill. This recipe could easily be doubled (or quadrupled) if you’re inclined to share.

I had this for breakfast, but it would make a great snack (or even dessert) as well. All you need is 3/4 cup pineapple chunks (I used fresh pineapple, if my previous post didn’t give it away), 1/2 cup whipped cottage cheese, 4 teaspoons honey, and 1 teaspoon toasted coconut (optional).

I’ve never seen whipped cottage cheese in a grocery store. (And I’ve looked.) The recipe says you can just blend the cottage cheese if you can’t find it pre-whipped.

All you have to do is create layers with the ingredients. Put 1/4 cup of pineapple in the bottom of the glass. Top it with half of the cottage cheese (1/4 cup) and 2 teaspoons honey. Make another layer with the same amounts of pineapple, cottage cheese, and honey. Top with the remaining 1/4 cup of pineapple and the toasted shredded coconut.

pineapple_parfait.jpg

That’s it! This was so delicious, I had it for breakfast two days in a row. It was a good use of the leftover pineapple.

If you wanted to cut corners, you could use canned pineapple, plain old cottage cheese, and untoasted coconut (or no coconut at all). I think the extra effort is worth it, though – especially since going all out still takes less than 10 minutes.

TIPS: I have many today, which is odd for such a short recipe. 🙂 First, if you want to use toasted coconut in your parfait, just sprinkle the coconut in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet and bake it at 350 F for about 5 minutes. Keep an eye on it, or you might end up with crispy little brown slivers. (This has happened to me – can you tell?)

For blended cottage cheese, you could use a blender, a food processor, or even just a whisk. I used a blender the first day and a whisk the second. The blender offered a lighter texture, and the whisk meant less to clean up. An immersion blender would be perfect here.

Finally, you might want to cut the amount of honey used in this recipe in half if you’re not really into sweet stuff. I love honey (and sweet stuff), so I went all out.

0 Responses to “Pineapple Parfait”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


