Mediterranean Omelet

I think omelets are fantastic. They’re standard breakfast fare, yet hearty enough for dinner. Plus, you can fill them with just about anything. The possibilities are endless.

For the next-to-last recipe in my “cooking for one” series, I decided to try the Mediterranean Omelet from the April 2004 issue of Everyday Food. First, I prepped my ingredients. I quartered a cup of grape tomatoes, sliced up a scallion, and put that in a small bowl with a pinch of oregano. Next, I set aside 2 tablespoons crumbled feta cheese and 1 tablespoon slivered black olives in a separate small bowl. Finally, I whisked together 2 large eggs and 1/8 teaspoon salt in yet another small bowl. I made a few dirty dishes, but it’s so much easier to just toss in ingredient groups during cooking.

I warmed a teaspoon of olive oil in an 8-inch nonstick skillet and added the tomatoes, scallions, and oregano. I cooked that for a minute (to soften the tomatoes), removed it from the heat, and stirred in the feta and olives. I put that mixture back into the tomato bowl, covered it to keep it warm, and wiped out the skillet with a paper towel to re-use it for the omelet.

I warmed a second teaspoon of olive oil in the skillet over medium heat and poured the eggs in. I let them set for about 2 minutes, so things were pretty solid on the bottom but still wet on top.

cooking_eggs.jpg

This is where a flexible spatula really comes in handy. I like to lift up the corner of the omelet and let the “wet” egg run underneath to cook by tilting the skillet. I usually do this at a couple of different points around the outside of the omelet. Do this for about another 1 – 2 minutes, until the omelet is set. The omelet will not be completely dry on top, but that’s okay. (A slightly wet top is basically the equivalent of eggs cooked over medium.)

I placed the tomato filling on one side of the set omelet, folded it, and served it.

filled_omelet.jpg

mediterranean_omelet.jpg

Ten minutes from kitchen to table… I love it. This flavor combination was pretty yummy, too. This Everyday Food issue actually has three additional flavor combinations: southwestern, bacon and cheddar, and ham and pepper. I think ham and pepper will be next.

TIPS: Making an omelet for the first time can be a bit tricky. It gets easier, believe me. I can’t sing the praises of my flexible spatulas enough, though. For omelets to pancakes to just about anything soft you could need to flip in a skillet, they’re the best.

I don’t like my omelet wet at all, so I actually flip my omelet for about 30 seconds to cook the other side before I fill it. I don’t think I could pull this off without a decent nonstick pan and a flexible spatula.

If you have two people to feed and you want the omelets to hit the table at the same time, it’s actually not difficult to have two going at once. I keep an extra 8-inch skillet around just for this purpose. Simply double the filling in the first step, and cook the eggs in two separate skillets at the same time.

Recipe link: Mediterranean Omelet

1 Response to “Mediterranean Omelet”


  1. 1 killeromelets May 21, 2009 at 4:09 am

    this looks AWESOME. simple, yet has a great theme. i dig it.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


