Creamy Spinach Ravioli

We’re going to stray from the norm today and take a look at a recipe that isn’t from Everyday Food, if you can believe it.

I had my very first (teensy-tiny) kitchen when I was a junior in college. Not that I had any idea what to do with it. What I did know was a kitchen = no cafeteria meal plan = time to learn to cook, at least minimally.

My first recipes included some easy hand-me-downs from Mom (like basic chicken and noodles), those from the “classic” book Help! My Apartment Has a Kitchen, and a few I dug up here and there online. Then I found Pampered Chef. I was drawn to Pampered Chef because there were pictures with every recipe and the instructions and techniques were extremely simple. I felt like if I could read (and I can!), I could cook.

One of my favorite Pampered Chef recipes is Creamy Spinach Ravioli from Pampered Chef’s It’s Good for You cookbook. This is a recipe I consistently go to on evenings when time is short.

I started by cooking two packages of refrigerated (not frozen) light cheese ravioli. I always buy Buitoni near the dairy section. While that cooked, I heated a large skillet over medium heat and sprayed it with nonstick cooking spray. I added some mushrooms, onion, bell pepper, garlic and pepper. The recipe says to “cook and stir 3 – 4 minutes or until vegetables are tender and all liquid is absorbed.” It consistently takes me 6 – 8 minutes to get to this point.

Next, I turned the heat down to low and added some cream cheese and evaporated milk to make the sauce. I stirred until the cream cheese melted and the sauce was smooth, and then added a package of thawed frozen creamed spinach. I simmered that for about 2 minutes until it was heated through and then poured the sauce mixture over the drained ravioli. I served it in pasta bowls with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese.

creamy_spinach_ravioli.jpg

This recipe only takes 20 minutes from start to finish, and it tastes a lot more indulgent than it is. I’d highly recommend it as a way to get your creamy pasta fix. 🙂

TIPS: Pampered Chef recipes always incorporate Pampered Chef tools into the directions. While the company does make nice kitchen tools, you absolutely do not need these specific products to make Pampered Chef recipes. I must say they make the best garlic press I’ve ever used, though, and I love their stoneware collection.

Recipe link: Creamy Spinach Ravioli

2 Responses to “Creamy Spinach Ravioli”


  1. 1 leslieann November 20, 2007 at 7:25 am

    Pretty much the only “real” kitchen tool I own (other than a lovely blender) is a Pampered Chef garlic press — my mom’s a big garlic lover and knew no kitchen could be complete without it.

  2. 2 Discount Pampered Chef Items June 14, 2008 at 3:28 am

    I’m definitely trying that one. It looks fast and simple, so that’s right up my alley! Thanks for sharing it!

    And my favorite Pampered Chef item is their pizza stone. LOVE it!!

    Alicia Smith


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


