Sweet Party Mix

As my last pre-Thanksgiving post, I’d like to share one of my very favorite game day snack recipes. This is a big weekend for football, and I’d hate for you to go hungry. 😉

I received the recipe for Sweet Party Mix from a dear friend who went to dental school with Dr. O. This mix is addictive, truly. The recipe makes enough for about 12 people (maybe more), so I try not to make it unless we’re going to have some help in the eating department.

For ingredients, you’ll need:

1 stick butter
1/4 cup corn syrup
1 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 12-oz. box Crispix
1 bag of pretzels (I use half of a 12 – 15 oz. bag)
2 cups peanuts
M&Ms (I use one medium bag of peanut M&Ms)

Microwave the butter, corn syrup and brown sugar in a medium bowl for 2 minutes. Stir well. Add vanilla and baking soda. Stir. Pour Crispix into a brown paper bag. Pour butter mixture over the top of the cereal and shake well. Microwave the mixture in the paper bag for 1 1/2 – 2 minutes. Add pretzels and peanuts. Shake together and cool on wax paper. Add M&Ms if desired.

sweet_party_mix.jpg

This mix is soooo good. The Crispix is really the best part. Dr. O is constantly leaving the pretzels and peanuts behind because they don’t soak up as much of the yummy goo. Shame, shame.

TIPS: You’ll need a grocery-size brown paper sack for this recipe. I always just ask for an fresh one when I go through the checkout line at the store. You’ll want to shake the heck out of this to make sure the ingredients are well-coated, and a large sack will give you the room you need.

For cooling the mix, I cover my dining room table in wax paper and spread it out. You’ll need a decent amount of space! Also, make sure you don’t add the M&Ms to the mix until it has cooled. Otherwise, the M&M colors will run.

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


