Turkey Sloppy Joes

Sloppy Joes are one of my go-to meals on busy nights. I know the sophistication factor is low, but I always take the time to use fresh ingredients. Manwich has its place, but it isn’t in my house. 🙂

I’ve made a particular Pampered Chef recipe so many times it’s burned into my memory. It’s mostly ground beef, with some onion, garlic, salt, pepper, brown sugar, ketchup, and mustard. It’s reliable. This time, though, I thought I’d try a turkey-based recipe – Turkey Sloppy Joes from the September 2007 issue of Everyday Food.

I started by heating 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. I added carrots, onion, garlic, salt, and pepper. After about 5 minutes, I added tomato paste and cooked the mixture for 1 minute. I added 3/4 pound of ground turkey and cooked that – breaking it up with a spoon – until it was no longer pink, about 5 minutes.

Next, I added canned crushed tomatoes, dark-brown sugar, cider vinegar, and Worcestershire sauce for the “sloppy” part of the sandwiches. I cooked the meat mixture for about 12 minutes until it had thickened and served it on whole-wheat rolls (with SunChips, of course!).

turkey_sloppy_joes.jpg

This recipe is simple, inexpensive, and definitely kid friendly. I think I may like my beef-based recipe a bit more (I’ll post it soon – promise!), but ground turkey is a nice alternative. This is a good way to sneak in some veggies, too.

Recipe link: Turkey Sloppy Joes

0 Responses to “Turkey Sloppy Joes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


