Favorite Meatloaf

I’m not 100% sure this is my favorite meatloaf *ever*, but we have to go with the actual title of the recipe – Favorite Meatloaf from Kraft’s Winter 2007 issue of Food & Family. I’ve made this once before and our neighbors really liked it, so I decided to give it another shot.

Assembling the meatloaf was pretty simple. I cooked 1 cup of chopped onions in 1/4 cup of Kraft Light Done Right! Zesty Italian dressing for 8 minutes in a nonstick skillet over medium heat. After about 5 minutes of cool time, I combined the onions and dressing with extra lean ground beef, ketchup. stuffing mix, water, and egg whites. Once the ingredients were well mixed, I placed the meat mixture in a 9 x 13-inch baking dish and shaped it into a 10 x 5-inch loaf. I topped the loaf with 1/2 cup of ketchup.

favorite_meatloaf1.jpg

The meatloaf baked for an hour at 350 F. Finally, I topped the loaf with 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar and baked it until the cheese had melted, about 2 minutes.

This meatloaf is really moist, but it holds together and slices very well. I really like the way the Stove Top mix (the chicken variety) adds to the flavor of the dish. I served this with baked potatoes and broccoli.

favorite_meatloaf.jpg

TIPS: Kraft puts out the Food & Family magazines 5 times a year (I think), and they’re absolutely free. You can sign up here.

This recipe makes 8 large servings, so it’s great for family dinners and leftovers. You could probably make a half recipe and bake it for about 40 minutes in an 8 x 8 dish. Just make sure the meatloaf reaches 160 F in the center.

Recipe link: Favorite Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


