Open-Faced Cheeseburgers with Mushrooms and Onion

Open-Faced Cheeseburgers with Mushrooms and Onion from the December 2007 issue of Everyday Food is perfect for those of us who love burgers but don’t own a grill. Using the broiler cuts total recipe time down to only 25 minutes as well, which is fabulous.

I couldn’t find this recipe posted anywhere on the Web, so here are the ingredients:

2 tablespoons olive oil
10 ounces white mushrooms, trimmed and thinly sliced
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1 medium red onion, halved and thinly sliced
1 teaspoon red-wine vinegar
1 pound ground beef chuck
1 plum tomato, cored and cut lengthwise into 4 slices
2 ounces Fontina cheese, cut into four slices
4 slices sourdough bread (1 inch thick), toasted

I started by turning on my broiler with a rack about 4 inches from the heat. Next, I heated 1 tablespoon of oil over medium-high in a large skillet. I added the mushrooms and seasoned them with salt and pepper, cooking until they released their liquid and started to brown (5 – 7 minutes). I transferred them to a bowl and set them aside.

I placed another tablespoon of oil and the red onion in the same skillet and seasoned again with salt and pepper. I cooked the onion until it started to brown (5 – 7 minutes), returned the mushrooms to the skillet, and stirred the red-wine vinegar into the mixture before setting it aside.

Next, I formed the ground chuck into 4 patties that were about 3/4 inch thick. I seasoned them with salt and pepper and put them on a foil-lined, rimmed baking sheet. The recipe says to broil the patties for 3 minutes for medium-rare burgers and 5 minutes for medium burgers. (I broiled for 4 minutes and wished I would’ve done 5 – 6.)

I took the baking sheet out of the oven and topped each burger with a slice of tomato and a slice of Fontina. I broiled the burgers for 2 minutes more and served them on the toasted sourdough with the mushroom-onion mixture on the side.

open_faced_cheeseburgers.jpg

This was just like having a bistro burger at my very own table. Plus, it was quick and easy. Next time, though, I will increase my pre-cheese broiling time to 5 minutes (maybe 6) for a medium-well burger instead of a medium-rare one.

TIPS: This is the first time I’ve successfully located and used Fontina cheese. It’s terrific and I look forward to using it more often, but I think other easy-to-find cheeses (Swiss, cheddar, etc.) would work just as well with this recipe.

0 Responses to “Open-Faced Cheeseburgers with Mushrooms and Onion”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


