Minestrone

It’s finally chilly here in Dallas, so I’m on a bit of a soup kick. I made Minestrone from the January/February 2004 issue of Everyday Food for dinner this week. This recipe is a really tasty way to get multiple servings of vegetables in one dish.

I’m apparently on a roll with recipes that haven’t been posted on the Web, so here are the ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion
1 large leek, white and pale green parts only, sliced crosswise 1/4 inch thick, and washed well
1 medium carrot, sliced crosswise and 1/4 inch thick
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 medium zucchini, quartered lengthwise and sliced crosswise 1/2 inch thick
1/4 small head cabbage, halved lengthwise and shredded
1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary or 1 teaspoon dried
1 can (14.5 ounces) diced tomatoes
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1 can (19 ounces) kidney beans, drained and rinsed
4 ounces elbow macaroni
Grated Parmesan cheese, for garnish

I started by heating the olive oil over medium in a large pot. I added the onion, leek, carrot, and garlic, and cooked the mixture (stirring often) for 4 minutes. Next, I added the zucchini, cabbage, and rosemary, and cooked the mixture (stirring constantly) until the vegetables were coated with the olive oil, about 2 minutes.

I added the canned tomatoes (not drained) and 6 cups of water. I brought that to a boil and then reduced the heat to medium to bring everything to a simmer. I seasoned the soup with salt and pepper and cooked it until the vegetables were tender and the soup was slightly thickened, about 10 minutes.

I stirred in the beans and the pasta and cooked the soup until the pasta was al dente. Check your package instructions to see how long this will take. I used the ditalini from the Bean and Pasta Soup I made earlier this month, so my cooking time was an extra 10 minutes. I seasoned again with salt and pepper and garnished the soup with grated Parmesan.

minestrone.jpg

This is my new favorite minestrone recipe. This wasn’t a really soup-y soup; it was chock full of yummy (and healthy) ingredients. It was a perfect lunch the next day as well.

TIPS: I had to season this soup with a decent amount of salt to get the flavor I was going for. Typically, I make soup with chicken or vegetable broth, which already has a significant amount of sodium. Since this soup has a water base, seasoning was especially important.

p.s. I’ve suffered a kitchen tragedy that may prevent me from posting any *baked* Christmas goodies this week. I was baking sugar cookies yesterday afternoon when I was startled by some kind of white light explosion from my oven. After that, my oven wouldn’t get above 300 F (the cookies needed to bake at 350, of course), and none of the bottoms browned. The bottom heat source in my oven blew out. Dang it! I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it’s an easy repair.

1 Response to “Minestrone”


  1. 1 leslieann December 17, 2007 at 4:45 am

    Looks delicious! I can’t believe the untimeliness of your kitchen tragedy, but I’m glad it didn’t damage anything (apart from the unfinished cookies)! I hope it’s an easy repair, too…


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


