Chicken in Creamy Pan Sauce

Chicken in Creamy Pan Sauce from the Fall 2007 issue of Kraft’s Food & Family magazine is a simple and tasty way to dress up boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Plus, it’s quick – it actually took me less than the 30 minutes the recipe listed for total cooking time. There are a couple of variations for topping the chicken – fresh parsley, a spinach-bacon combo, and a tomato-basil combo. I went with the tomatoes and basil.

I started by quartering 1 cup of cherry tomatoes and tearing 2 tablespoons of basil into medium pieces. Next, I put 2 tablespoons of flour in a gallon-sized zipper bag and added four chicken breast halves (1 pound). I sealed the bag and shook it to evenly coat the chicken with the flour.

I heated 1 tablespoon of olive oil in my cast iron skillet over medium heat and cooked the chicken for 6 minutes on each side. (The internal temperature should be 165 F, if you have a meat thermometer.) I removed the chicken from the skillet and set it aside on a plate, covered with foil so it would stay warm.

I added 3/4 cup of chicken broth to the same skillet (with the chicken drippings) and used a wooden spoon to scrape up the brown bits from the bottom of the pan. Next, I added 4 ounces of cubed cream cheese and cooked the sauce for about 3 minutes, stirring constantly. Once the cream cheese had melted and the sauce started to thicken, I added the cooked chicken breast and turned it to coat both sides with sauce. I cooked it for 2 more minutes to reheat the chicken a bit, plated it, and sprinkled it with the tomatoes and basil.

chicken_in_creamy_pan_sauce.jpg

This was pretty good. The flavor’s not particularly sophisticated, but if you like cream sauce, this is a nice, healthy version (particularly if you use light/neufchatel cream cheese instead of regular). I served this with spinach salad and rolls.

TIPS: I used my cast iron skillet because I wanted my chicken to brown a bit. You could use a nonstick skillet instead if that’s all you have.

Recipe link: Chicken in Creamy Pan Sauce

0 Responses to “Chicken in Creamy Pan Sauce”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


