Italian Pot Roast

We had dinner at our place with our neighbors last night, and I decided to serve Italian Pot Roast from the December 2004 issue of Everyday Food. This is a “bold green” recipe, all the way. Plus, it’s a slow cooker recipe, which means any mess can be cleaned up long before company arrives.

I started with a beef chuck roast. I cut it in half crosswise and then cut 4 random slits in the meat. I stuff each slit with half of a garlic clove. I seasoned the beef with salt and pepper and then heated 1 tablespoon of olive oil in my cast iron skillet over high heat. I browned the meat on all sides, using tongs to turn it. Browning took about 5 minutes.

Next, I combined the beef, an onion (cut into wedges), 1 1/4 pounds of white potatoes, a can of whole tomatoes in puree (28 ounces), 1 teaspoon of dried rosemary, and 2 more halved garlic cloves in my (large) slow cooker. I cooked everything on high for 6 hours.

When the cooking time had passed, I removed just the meat from the slow cooker and cut it into smaller pieces. I skimmed the fat off the top of the sauce using a sieve and then returned the meat to the pot until we were ready to eat. I served this with a loaf of take-and-bake bread from Kroger and salad with dried cherries and toasted almonds.

italian_pot_roast.jpg

This was actually really easy and the ingredient list is exceptionally short, but it was so good. Seriously.

TIPS: The recipe says this will serve 8 people. There is simply *no* way. I started with a 2.8-pound piece of meat (as opposed to exactly 3 pounds) and served it to 4 people. The guys barely got seconds before we completely emptied the pot.

Also, it can be tricky to find whole tomatoes in puree. Most “normal” grocery stores only have them packed in juice. If that’s all you can find, it will work – your sauce will just be thinner.

Recipe link: Italian Pot Roast

1 Response to “Italian Pot Roast”


  1. 1 ecline217 December 21, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    All I can say is this was yum, yum, yum!! I just can’t figure out why mine can’t turn out this good. Might seriously be my slow cooker, I wonder how long it would take in the oven? I might try that out and see if my slow cooker is bad.

    Maybe the 8 people meant European people that eat only a tiny slice. Our boys love their meat!!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


