Chickpea and Pasta Soup

I know, I know – more soup. 🙂 Dr. O had a dinner appointment the other evening, so I decided to make Chickpea and Pasta Soup from the December 2004 issue of Everyday Food. The recipe only makes 2 servings, so it worked out perfectly – I had a serving for dinner and Dr. O had leftovers for lunch the next day.

This one isn’t posted online, so here are the ingredients:

1 teaspoon olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 can (14 ounces) reduced-sodium vegetable broth
1/2 cup elbow pasta
1 can (15.5 ounces) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

I started by heating the olive oil in a small saucepan over medium-low heat. I added the garlic and cooked it, stirring frequently, for 90 seconds (recipe says 1 – 2 minutes).

I added the vegetable broth and 1 1/4 cups of water to the saucepan. I raised the heat to high and brought the mixture to a boil. I added the pasta (I’m still using the ditalini from the Bean and Pasta Soup and the Minestrone) and the chickpeas. The recipe says to cook until the pasta is al dente – check the pasta package instructions to see how long this will take. My pasta needed to cook for 9 minutes. I sprinkled the soup with the parsley and Parmesan to finish it.

chickpea_and_pasta_soup.jpg

This is a really tasty soup, and it only took 25 minutes from start to finish. (Most of that was bringing the soup to a boil and waiting for the pasta to cook.) I’ve always liked Italian wedding soup… This reminds me of that, just with chickpeas instead of meatballs.

0 Responses to “Chickpea and Pasta Soup”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


