Sparkling Limeade

Sparkling Limeade is actually from the January/February 2006 issue of Everyday Food, but I didn’t really discover it until earlier this year. The best part about this recipe is that it can be flipped from really delicious limeade to equally delicious margaritas very easily. This is especially handy if some of your guests want to drink but others don’t – everyone ends up happy. 🙂

I started by making simple syrup. I combined 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of water in a small saucepan over medium heat. I cooked it, stirring, until the sugar had dissolved and the mixture was clear, about 3 minutes. I transferred the mixture to a pitcher and let it cool.

Meanwhile, I squeezed 10 small limes to make 1 cup of fresh lime juice. Once the syrup had cooled (about 20 minutes), I added the lime juice and topped everything off with 1 quart (4 cups) of seltzer water. I served the limeade over ice, garnished with lime wheels.

sparkling_limeade.jpg

To make margaritas, just use 2 cups of tequila in place of the 4 cups of seltzer water. If you (or your guests) like drinks that aren’t so stiff, I would start with 1 cup of tequila and increase the amount to taste.

TIPS: This recipe is a great opportunity to use a lime squeezer, if you have one. I broke my plastic one, unfortunately, so I just used a citrus reamer. Also, if you microwave each lime for 10 seconds before slicing it, it will release its juice much easier.

Recipe link: Sparkling Limeade

6 Responses to “Sparkling Limeade”


  1. 1 realworldmartha December 30, 2007 at 8:58 am

    That sounds wonderful. I can’t wait until I try it!
    Debbie aka The Real World Martha (S)

  2. 2 jfochek December 30, 2007 at 9:09 am

    It’s really delicious – I make it over and over. Let me know how it goes! 🙂

    Jenny


  1. 1 Hibiscus-Honey Iced Tea « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on June 23, 2008 at 2:04 am
  2. 2 Super Bowl Snacks: Past Posts « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 2, 2010 at 12:30 am
  3. 3 Happy Cinco de Mayo! « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 2, 2010 at 6:46 am
  4. 4 Cinco de Mayo All-Stars « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on May 4, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


