Soy Ginger Chicken

I love my slow cooker. I think the best part about it is that you typically make the dinner mess about 6 – 8 hours before you need to eat the meal, which allows for plenty of clean-up time. 🙂 Anyway, Dr. O picked a nice slow cooker meal earlier this week – Soy Ginger Chicken from the December 2006 issue of Everyday Food.

I started by combining 1/3 cup of soy sauce, 2 tablespoons of dark brown sugar, 5 thinly sliced garlic cloves, 2/3 cup of chopped fresh cilantro, 1 piece of fresh ginger (peeled and cut into thin strips), 1/2 cup of scallions, 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, 1 teaspoon of ground coriander, and 1/2 teaspoon of ground pepper in my slow cooker. I added 4 chicken drumsticks and 4 thighs (skin removed) along with 2 thinly sliced carrots. I tossed everything together and cooked the chicken on low for 6 hours.

When the six hours had passed, I whisked together 1 tablespoon of cornstarch with 1 tablespoon of water in a 2-cup glass measuring cup. I ladled 1 cup of cooking liquid from the crock pot into the measuring cup and whisked everything together to combine. I put the mixture into a small saucepan, brought it to a boil, and cooked it until thickened (about 1 minute). With the slow cooker turned off, I stirred the sauce into the chicken. I served this over white rice, garnished with cilantro.

soy_ginger_chicken.jpg

If I had been paying attention, I would have followed the recipe and garnished it with more scallions as well. I used up all the scallions I had in the first part of the recipe, and my search for scallions during my SuperTarget errand turned up cold. We survived.

This dish was good but not “knock your socks off” great. There’s nothing like slow-cooked meat, though… I had a couple lonely drumstick bones in the crock pot because the meat had cooked right off.

TIPS: If you don’t have a large slow cooker, this dish can be made in the oven as well. Click the recipe link below and check out the “Notes” section for full instructions.

Recipe link: Soy Ginger Chicken

0 Responses to “Soy Ginger Chicken”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


