Chicken Lasagna Alfredo

If I surveyed all of the folks who have shared my table throughout the years about their favorite dishes, I think Chicken Lasagna Alfredo from Pampered Chef’s Celebrate! may come out on top. The blend of flavors is just *amazing* – I think the artichoke, red pepper, and feta really make the dish. Leftovers are rare with this one!

Normally, one would start out by boiling 10 lasagna noodles. I always use no-boil lasagna, though, so I was able to skip this step. In a small bowl, I whisked together 1 jar (16 ounces) of Alfredo sauce, 1/4 cup of milk, and 1 1/2 teaspoons of oregano and then set the mixture aside.

The recipe calls for 3 cups of coarsely chopped cooked chicken; this is equivalent to about 1 1/2 pounds of raw chicken breast. I always poach (boil) mine, but you could cook it any way you like. After I chopped the cooked chicken with a large knife, I used my food chopper to chop 1 can (14 ounces) of artichoke hearts (drained), 1 red bell pepper (for 1/2 cup), and 1 small onion (for 1/4 cup). I put the chicken, artichoke hearts, bell pepper, and onion in a large bowl. I used my garlic press to press 2 garlic cloves over the bowl (the recipe only calls for one, but I like garlic!), and then I added 3 cups of shredded mozzarella and 4 ounces of crumbled feta cheese. I stirred until everything was well mixed.

To assemble the lasagna, I spread 2/3 cup of the Alfredo sauce over the bottom of a 9 x 13 baker. I topped it with 4 no-boil noodles, overlapping slightly to fit. I scattered 1 cup of fresh baby spinach over the top of the noodles and topped that with half of the chicken mixture. I repeated the layers, starting with half of the remaining Alfredo sauce. After layering, I poured the rest of the Alfredo sauce over the top of the lasagna.

I covered my baking dish with aluminum foil and baked the lasagna at 375 F for 45 minutes. Then, I removed the foil and baked it for 15 minutes longer. I let the lasagna stand for 15 minutes (for easier serving), and then served it with broccoli and Italian bread.

chicken_alfredo_lasagna.jpg

This dish is incredible, truly. It’s actually relatively healthy, too, if you only have one piece, though I don’t believe I’ve ever had a gentleman guest not ask for seconds (or thirds!). The recipe makes 12 servings and will comfortably serve at least 6 people. I like to serve this with another pasta dish (spaghetti with meatballs, penne with vodka sauce, etc.) to mix things up a bit for larger parties.

TIPS: If you boil your lasagna noodles, you’ll use 10 noodles as the recipe directs. I’ve consistently found that 4 no-boil noodles (of various brands) will cover each layer in the lasagna with a slight overlap, so I only end up using 8 no-boil noodles. The one time I tried to use 5 no-boil noodles for each layer, I don’t think there was enough liquid to allow the noodles to reach a proper texture. Dr. O said things were a bit “chewy.” 🙂 It really depends on the size of your no-boil noodles, though… They need to have a slight overlap. If you somehow end up with smaller noodles, use more.

Recipe link: Chicken Lasagna Alfredo

NOTE: The recipe poster doesn’t credit Pampered Chef, but this is *the* recipe, modified slightly. He upped the garlic from 1 clove to 3, added fresh basil, and left 1/3 of the mozzarella cheese for the top of the lasagna. E-mail me at sweetandsaucy.wordpress.com@gmail.com if you’d like a standard-format version of the original.

11 Responses to “Chicken Lasagna Alfredo”


  1. 1 Jennifer D January 13, 2008 at 1:01 am

    What kind of Alfredo sauce do you use? The jarred kind I have tried was too ‘fake’. Do you use the alfredo found in the refrigerated setion?

    You make a former Pampered Chef proud!! (I’ve never tried this recipe – I have all the cookbooks so I think I’ll start putting them to use!)

  2. 2 jfochek January 13, 2008 at 4:57 am

    Oooooo, you’ll have to try this one. People absolutely love it! I actually just use jarred Bertolli or Classico sauce, which has worked well for me. I totally know what you mean about “fake” tasting Alfredo… I had an awful early experience with some Ragu brand sauce.

    Jenny

  3. 3 Discount Pampered Chef Items June 14, 2008 at 3:32 am

    I’m loving your recipes!! This is the second one I’m going to try. The penne with vodka sauce that you mentioned sounds wonderful, also.

    Alicia Smith

  4. 4 Jennifer October 13, 2008 at 8:37 am

    It’s only taken me since January (when I first commented) to give this a try… and technically longer than that b/c I’ve had the cookbook for YEARS! I was hesitant to do this one b/c of the ‘fake’ alfredo taste (I suppose I could have made my own if I was THAT worried about it) and I’ve used chopped onion in dishes before, but if I don’t cook them first they tendED to have a bite to them. Despite all this, I went for it. And I am so glad I did! I put so much faith into this that I actually made my BF one simultaneously. I hope she loves it as much as I did! Mmmm. So. Good.

  5. 5 Lori October 15, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Another winner! I loved it, and my husband had 3 helpings. The kids all thought it tasted good once they picked out all the veggies. I put artichokes in everything I can, so they’re used to picking them out. They asked what the dark green stuff was (spinach) so I just told them it was dark green artichokes. If I told them it was spinach the reaction would have been worse.

    Thanks for the great recipe! Beef tacos tonight, and the Penne with Vodka sauce the next day!

  6. 6 Jenny October 15, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    I’m glad you and your family enjoyed it, Lori! And your “dark green artichoke” line is TOO funny. Thanks a bunch for your comment and your visit!

  7. 7 FYI April 8, 2011 at 3:12 am

    I found this exact recipe here:

    http://www.food.com/recipe/easy-chicken-alfredo-lasagna-421123

    Did they steal it from you?

    • 8 jfochek April 8, 2011 at 3:27 am

      They didn’t steal it from *me*, but they did fail to credit Pampered Chef. I’d say changing the regular onion to red onion isn’t quite enough of a deviation to claim the recipe as an original…


  1. 1 Healthier Meat Lasagna « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on April 25, 2008 at 6:39 am
  2. 2 High Altitude Update: Chicken Lasagna Alfredo « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on November 14, 2008 at 9:29 pm
  3. 3 Chicken Alfredo Pesto Lasagna= YUM! - The Colbert Clan Trackback on January 7, 2015 at 1:26 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


