Baked French Toast with Raspberry Sauce

Dr. O and I have a decent number of house guests throughout the year, so I’m always on the lookout for easy, make-ahead breakfast recipes. Baked French Toast with Raspberry Sauce from the December 2007 issue of Everyday Food seemed like a winner, so I decided to give it a try.

I started by cutting 4 1-inch-thick slices from a loaf of challah bread; I set the slices aside. In a 9 x 13-inch baking dish, I whisked together 4 large eggs, 1 1/2 cups of whole milk, 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/8 teaspoon of salt.

I arranged the bread slices in a single layer over the egg mixture in the dish and let them soak for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, I flipped the slices, covered the dish with plastic wrap, and put it in the fridge. The recipe says the bread should soak for at least 30 more minutes. I soaked mine for about 4 hours, but overnight would work as well.

When I was ready to bake the French toast, I brushed a rimmed baking sheet with 2 tablespoons of melted butter. I used a spatula to transfer the soaked bread slices to the baking sheet and baked it for 30 minutes at 350 F.

During the baking time, I mashed 1 bag (12 ounces) of thawed frozen raspberries and 1/4 cup of sugar lightly with a fork to make the raspberry sauce. When the French toast was finished baking, I topped it with the sauce.

baked_french_toast_w_rasp_sauce.jpg

The picture would probably be prettier if I hadn’t drowned my slice in raspberry sauce. 😉 I really liked the flavor of this French toast; it was very custard-y. Dr. O said he likes the Apricot-Stuffed French Toast better, though, and I agree. Still, if you want a recipe you can prepare ahead of time to keep the mess to a minimum, this is a great option.

TIPS: My thawed raspberries were still pretty cold, so I microwaved my raspberry sauce to warm it. Also, the French toast puffed up pretty well in the oven and then deflated; the picture included with the recipe link below makes me think this is normal, though.

Recipe link: Baked French Toast with Raspberry Sauce

0 Responses to “Baked French Toast with Raspberry Sauce”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


