Tex-Mex Baked Potatoes

Let’s revisit what has to be one of the top three easiest recipes I’ve posted on the site.

Last night, I decided to try the second baked potato “flavor” offered in the September 2007 issue of Everyday Food – Tex-Mex Baked Potatoes. (If you missed it, I made All-American Baked Potatoes back in November.)

Again, the recipe was ridiculously easy and really fantastic.

I started by scrubbing my potatoes, pricking them all over with a fork, and then rubbing them with olive oil and salt. While they baked for an hour at 400 F, I heated 1 cup of canned black beans in the microwave (1 minute), opened a jar of salsa (10 seconds), and pulled some goat cheese out of the fridge (10 seconds). Since I didn’t have to cube ham or shred cheese this time around, prep was even shorter than it was with the All-American Baked Potatoes.

When the potatoes had finished baking, I cut a cross into each one, pushed the sides together, and topped them off with about 1/4 cup of black beans, 2 tablespoons of salsa, and 2 tablespoons of goat cheese:

tex_mex_baked_potato.jpg

Voila! Like I said before, it rarely gets easier than this.

TIPS: Goat cheese isn’t for everyone. It looks like feta, but it has a very full, almost tangy flavor. I like it, but you could easily substitute any other kind of crumbled or shredded cheese in its place.

Recipe link: Baked Potato Bar

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


