Thinnest Crust Pizza with Ricotta and Mushrooms

I’m always on the lookout for recipes with short ingredient lists and lots of flavor – Thinnest Crust Pizza with Ricotta and Mushrooms from the January/February 2007 issue of Everyday Food is one of those recipes. Plus, it’s ready in just over a half an hour, which makes it perfect for any night of the week.

I started by positioning my oven racks in the upper and lower thirds of my oven. While the oven heated to 450 F, I lined two rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper and then brushed each one lightly with olive oil. I put one whole-wheat sandwich wrap on each baking sheet and brushed each wrap with 1 teaspoon of olive oil.

Next, I sprinkled each wrap with 1/2 cup of shredded Asiago cheese and 1/3 cup of ricotta cheese. (I applied the ricotta in dollops, about 6 per wrap.) After the cheese, I added about 5 ounces of sliced mushrooms and half of a small red onion, thinly sliced, to each wrap and then seasoned with salt and pepper.

thinnest_crust_pizza_uncooked.jpg

The recipe says to bake the pizzas for 20 – 25 minutes until the crust is crisp and very brown all over, rotating the baking sheets top to bottom and front to back halfway through. My crust was very brown in about 15 minutes, so I took the pizzas out and served them.

thinnest_crust_pizza.jpg

This recipe has terrific flavor. I’m not really a fan of red onion even, but once it’s baked, it’s delish. On the downside, my pizzas weren’t exactly crisp all the way through. They might have gotten there if I had left them in for the entire recommended cooking time, but my crust would’ve been black. I used La Tortilla Factory Tomato Basil Wraps (they have gluten-free ones too, Leslie!), which are wonderful, but I may try a different line of wraps next time to see if I get different results.

TIPS:  Depending on where you live, you might have difficulty finding shredded Asiago cheese.  You could buy a block and shred it yourself (if you can find it), or Parmesan cheese will work just as well.

Recipe link: Thinnest Crust Pizza with Ricotta and Mushrooms

1 Response to “Thinnest Crust Pizza with Ricotta and Mushrooms”



  1. 1 Two-Cheese Tortilla Pizza with Arugula Salad « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on March 5, 2008 at 6:49 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


