Chocolate Peanut Butter Chex Bars

My little brother is quite handy in the kitchen, and he brought these delicious treats for our family on Christmas morning. I’ve been meaning to give them a whirl since that first taste – they’re addictive!

There’s not much to the recipe; it’s basically just making Rice Krispie treats without the Rice Krispies. Here are the ingredients:

6 cups of Chocolate Peanut Butter Chex Mix
1 bag (10.5 ounces) of mini marshmallows (or 4 cups, if you have a larger bag)
3 tablespoons of butter

I melted the butter in a large saucepan over low heat. Once the butter had melted, I added the marshmallows and stirred until the mixture was completely smooth. I removed the saucepan from the heat and added the Chex Mix, stirring gently until it was well coated.

My brother formed his mix into balls; I pressed mine into a 9 x 13-inch pan sprayed with cooking spray. Unless you want hands covered in sticky goo, it’s wise to let them sit and cool for 1 – 2 hours before cutting or eating them. I had a hard time waiting, so I put mine in the fridge for a bit to speed up the process. 🙂

chocolate_pb_chex_bars2.jpg

These are so, so good. I had never tried Chocolate Peanut Butter Chex mix before but I LOVE peanut butter, so this is a great combination. Next time, though, I’m taking them somewhere we can share them or I’m only making a half recipe… They “talked” to me all week, hehe.

TIPS: If you decide to put your mixture in a 9 x 13-inch pan, I always use an offset spatula sprayed with cooking spray to press down the mixture. That way, the bars are nice and dense. Waxed paper or even your hands sprayed with cooking spray would probably work well too.

2 Responses to “Chocolate Peanut Butter Chex Bars”


  1. 1 World Food and Recipes January 31, 2008 at 6:18 am

    Nice recipe, I bet my kids will LOVE these! Thanks.


  1. 1 Super Bowl Snacks: Past Posts « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 2, 2010 at 12:30 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


