Request Line! Creamy Sun-Dried Tomato, Roasted Red Pepper and Artichoke Pasta

This one’s for you, Jenn! This request was for a pasta with sun-dried tomatoes, artichokes, and a creamy sauce base. I searched a few of my favorite recipe sites and found one that seemed to fit the bill on Recipezaar.com: Creamy Sun-Dried Tomato, Roasted Red Pepper and Artichoke Pasta.

Here are the ingredients:

1 pound farfalle (bow tie pasta)
1 tablespoon olive oil
4 garlic cloves, pressed
1/2 cup diced onion
3/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, drained and chopped
1 jar (7 ounces) roasted red peppers, drained and chopped
1/2 cup basil, chopped (firmly packed)
5 scallions, sliced
1 can water-packed artichoke hearts, sliced
1/2 cup shredded asiago cheese
1 cup whipping cream (I used half-and-half to lighten things up a bit)
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I used 1/2 teaspoon)
1 cup reserved pasta water (I didn’t use this at all)

The food prep was the most time-consuming part of the recipe. It took me about 20 minutes to press, dice, chop, and slice the ingredients. I used this time to cook the farfalle as well (according to package directions), reserving 1 cup of the pasta water.

When all the ingredients were prepped, I heated the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat and added the garlic and onion, cooking until translucent (about 4 minutes). Next, I added the sun-dried tomatoes and roasted red peppers, cooking for 3 minutes more. I stirred in the red pepper flakes and added the artichoke hearts, cooking for another 3 minutes.

Next, I added the half-and-half and Asiago cheese, allowing the mixture to simmer until it started to thicken (about 2 minutes). I stirred in the basil and green onion, seasoned with salt and pepper, and tossed the sauce with the farfalle.

creamy_sd_tomato_artichoke_pasta.jpg

This flavor combination was really incredible. It’s like all of my favorite ingredients in one dish! I rarely cook with sun-dried tomatoes, so I enjoyed that part of the dish especially. I will definitely make this again, probably for a special occasion or as part of an Italian meal for company.

TIPS: I’m glad I only used 1/2 teaspoon of the red pepper flakes instead of a full teaspoon. I love the “zip” red pepper flakes add to a dish, but I think our noses might have been running with a full teaspoon.

While this dish was truly delicious, it wasn’t very “saucy.” The sauce and vegetables just clung to the farfalle; there wasn’t any sauce pooled in the bottom of my serving bowls. The recipe poster recommends that you use the cup of reserved pasta water to thin the sauce, but I think this might also dilute its flavor a bit. If I wanted to really create a restaurant experience at home, I would add at least another 1/2 cup of half-and-half to the dish during cooking to create a bit more sauce, maybe even another full cup.

Recipe link: Creamy Sun-Dried Tomato, Roasted Red Pepper and Artichoke Pasta

1 Response to “Request Line! Creamy Sun-Dried Tomato, Roasted Red Pepper and Artichoke Pasta”


  1. 1 Jennifer May 28, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Oh, Jenn! This dish was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! The colors, the flavors… it was divine! I agree about the sauce and needing more of it though. I added a little bit of the pasta water and it did, in fact, dilute the flavors so I stopped while I was ahead. Maybe you can get away with it if you’re using heavy whipping cream, which I was not. I don’t think I could eat it in good conscious (sp?) knowing that every bite had 10 grams of fat! 🙂 Thanks for this post. Wow.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


