Super Bowl Snacks: Pigs in Blankets

Since the Super Bowl is rapidly approaching and many of us will be attending or hosting parties, I thought it would be fun to dedicate the rest of the week to great game day snacks. There are tons of tasty little snacks in the freezer section of the grocery store – taquitos and mini quiche, anyone? – but I just can’t bring myself to serve processed convenience food to guests. I’m making it harder than it needs to be, I know. I just really enjoy the thrill of creating something delicious.

I decided to start with a popular game day snack – Pigs in Blankets – using a recipe from the September 2007 issue of Everyday Food. I will admit to taking advantage of a convenience ingredient here: frozen puff pastry. Since it takes about 3 days to make puff pastry from scratch, though, I think this one is OK. 🙂

Frozen puff pastry needs about 40 minutes to thaw before it can be used; thawing one sheet (1/2 package) was step one. Once the pastry had thawed, I unrolled the sheet, cut it lengthwise into 10 equal strips, and then cut each strip into equal thirds to yield 30 1-by-3-inch pieces. (This was actually pretty easy because my puff pastry had been rolled into thirds and then frozen; there were creases right at the 1/3 and 2/3 marks.)

I took 30 cocktail franks, patted them dry, and the rolled each one in a strip of pastry. I placed them seam-side down on rimmed baking sheet. Next, I brushed the top of each pastry with some lightly beaten egg and the sprinkled the batch with poppy seeds.

pigs_in_a_blanket_uncooked.jpg

The recipe said to bake the pigs at 400F for 25 – 30 minutes. Good thing I was watching… Mine were puffed, golden and heated through at 17 minutes.

pigs_in_a_blanket.jpg

These were really yummy little snacks! I served them with ketchup. They’re best consumed in one bite, though… Puff pastry’s delicate, flaky layers can produce some major crumbs.

TIPS: If you wanted to add cheese to the mix, you could probably put a strip of cheese on top of the pastry strip before rolling the franks (or just use cheese franks, if you can find them).

Recipe link: Pigs in Blankets (it’s the first recipe listed in the article)

3 Responses to “Super Bowl Snacks: Pigs in Blankets”


  1. 1 WebDrops January 30, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    This recipe sounds delicious… definitely a one to give a try… and all the more they look so beautifully wrapped 🙂

  2. 2 foolery August 29, 2008 at 3:14 am

    Hey Sweet And Saucy!

    Yes, it is I, Foolery, stealer of photos from around the web BUT I (almost) always link back to the site I stole from. That doesn’t make it right but at least I sleep okay at night and often make new friends. Hope you don’t mind?

    Because I think these looked delicious, too, and because half of my kitchen and food is packed for an impending move and because I was terribly lazy after moving, I made — gak — regular pigs in blankets with hot dogs and Pillsbury crescent roll dough. I know, I know, and they turned out DISGUSTING, not like I had fantasized and remembered. So I will remember how YOU did it because those actually do look delicious. I am hungry right now.

    Thanks for the funny comment, and swing on by for some haggis later (ha ha).

    Cheers,

    Laurie @ Foolery


  1. 1 Super Bowl Snacks: Stuffed Strawberry Cheesecakes « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on January 31, 2008 at 5:13 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


