Super Bowl Snacks: Stuffed Strawberry Cheesecakes

While I LOVE the more traditional game day snacks like pizza, chili, and yesterday’s Pigs in Blankets, I think it’s a good idea to balance things out a bit with a few healthier options. I found a great recipe in the August 2006 issue of Shape that presents a fun twist on fruit and dip – Stuffed Strawberry Cheesecakes.

I started by washing and patting dry 24 large strawberries. I sliced off each stem end and made a small hole in each berry using a 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon. (The recipe says to use a knife, but I thought it was easier to “scoop” using the measuring spoon.) I set the berries aside.

Next, I made the filling. In a small bowl, I combined 4 ounces of light cream cheese, 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I mashed and stirred everything together with a fork until it was smooth and well combined. I used the same 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon to spoon the filling into the strawberries. Scrumptious!

stuffed_strawberry_cheesecakes.jpg

TIPS: There are a couple of things you can do to prevent your strawberries from getting soggy. One, make sure you rinse and dry them *before* you remove the tops. Two, when you set them aside after the scooping step, I’d set them upside down over paper towels. That way, any extra moisture will drain out while you’re making the filling.

Recipe link: Stuffed Strawberry Cheesecakes

0 Responses to “Super Bowl Snacks: Stuffed Strawberry Cheesecakes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


