Request Line! Bill Granger’s Chocolate Self-Saucing Pudding

My dear friend Leslie sent me this week’s request – Bill Granger’s Chocolate Self-Saucing Pudding. I had never heard of Bill Granger, so I looked him up; he’s a self-taught Australian chef and food writer. I was especially excited to try this recipe because it’s simple but it’s kind of like a little science experiment – fun!

I started by sifting together my dry ingredients: 1 cup of flour, a pinch of salt, 1/2 cup of superfine sugar, 3 teaspoons of baking powder, and 4 tablespoons of cocoa powder. Next, I added 1 cup of milk, 6 tablespoons of melted butter, 2 lightly beaten eggs, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I beat the mixture with a hand mixer until was combined and then divided it among 4 buttered 10-ounce ramekins.

For the topping, I stirred together 1 cup of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder. I sprinkled the mixture over the 4 puddings. For the “science experiment” part of the recipe, I poured 1/4 cup of boiling water on top of each pudding as well. I put the ramekins on a rimmed baking sheet and baked them for 20 minutes.

It’s absolutely amazing how these changed during baking. What looked like a watery, chocolate-y puddle turned into a beautiful cracked sponge cake with “pudding” underneath. It was kind of like a molten chocolate cake.

chocolate_self_saucing_pudding.jpg

Mine didn’t quite crack and “sauce” as much as the puddings in the photos that accompany the recipe. I think this is because I used 10-ounce ramekins instead of 8-ounce ones. (I looked for 8-ounce ramekins at both Sur La Table and Crate and Barrel and didn’t have any luck.) Once I added whipped cream, though, it didn’t make much of a difference.

This dish has what I might call a “sophisticated” chocolate flavor – it’s more subtle than other similar desserts I’ve tasted. This is probably the result of the fact that the only chocolate flavor in this *chocolate* dessert comes from the cocoa powder. In this type of situation, the higher-quality cocoa powder you can find, the better. It was really yummy, though. These would be fun to make for company or for a special occasion. Thanks, Leslie!

Recipe link: Bill Granger’s Chocolate Self-Saucing Pudding

0 Responses to “Request Line! Bill Granger’s Chocolate Self-Saucing Pudding”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


