Request Line! Peanut Butter Oatmeal Monster Cookies

I have an amazing request to share with you this week – Peanut Butter Oatmeal Monster Cookies. I keep a list of cookies that are perfect for picnics, parties, etc. and these will definitely be added to that list. They’re soft, chewy, delicious, and absolutely addictive. Amazingly enough, they’re gluten-free too (as long as you use gluten-free peanut butter).

I started by lining two large cookie sheets with parchment paper. Next, I used a hand mixer to cream 1 stick of slightly softened butter, 1 1/2 cups of creamy peanut butter, 1 cup of brown sugar, and 1/2 cup of white sugar. I beat in 3 eggs and 1 tablespoon of vanilla, followed by 2 teaspoons of baking soda. I stirred in 4 1/2 cups of old-fashioned oats and 1 cup of regular M&M’s. (I stirred these in rather than using my hand mixer because I didn’t want to break the candy shells.)

The recipe says to use an ice cream scoop to divide the cookie batter, and the estimated output is 3 dozen cookies. My large ice cream scoop was only going to give me 24 cookies and my small one would make 48; I decided to use the small scoop. I dropped individual scoops of dough onto the cookie sheets and flattened each scoop slightly. (I was only able to get 12 cookies on each sheet to allow room for the dough to spread, so I ended up baking two batches.)

I baked the cookies, 2 sheets at a time, at 350 F for 8 1/2 minutes. I rotated the sheets top to bottom and front to back halfway through the baking time to ensure even results. When they were finished baking, I cooled the cookies on the baking sheets for 5 minutes and then transferred them to a wire rack to cool completely.

pb_oatmeal_monster_cookies.jpg

Holy smokes, these are SO good. They didn’t last long around here, but I know they stay soft and fabulous for at least 3 days. (I’m guessing they’d keep well for 5 – 7 days.) I’m going to make these again later this week with Valentine M&M’s to share with friends. Thanks for the terrific request, Christopher!

Recipe link: Peanut Butter Oatmeal Monster Cookies

p.s.  I had a reader comment recently that these cookies aren’t gluten-free because oats contain gluten.  Oats themselves do *not* contain gluten (check out info here and here), but she brings up a very important point.  Since oats are often processed in factories where other grains (including wheat) are also processed, they may contain trace amounts of gluten.  Just be sure to pick up a package that was processed in a gluten-free environment.  Bob’s Red Mill, for instance, sells gluten-free oats.  It’s not that the oats contained gluten to begin with, but the oats weren’t exposed to gluten during processing or transport.  Quaker, on the other hand, admits that their oats may contain trace amounts of wheat, rye, or barley, so their product would be an unsafe option for someone with celiac disease.

4 Responses to “Request Line! Peanut Butter Oatmeal Monster Cookies”


  1. 1 Jennifer D February 13, 2008 at 7:42 am

    Do I dare try these?! They sound incredible… oh, the temptation!!

  2. 2 Jennifer D February 13, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Do you happen to have a recipe for some really good pancakes that don’t have a stick of butter in them?

  3. 3 Pam Ozenbaugh February 13, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    If these are as good as Eileen’s in Lincoln and Omaha, I would die for them. I’m getting fatter just reading about all the baking you’re doing!! Seriously, if you’ve come close to the Eileen’s recipe, I’d like to know.


  1. 1 Update: Peanut Butter Oatmeal Monster Cookies « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on April 27, 2008 at 11:55 pm

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


