Request Line! Whole-Wheat Pancakes with Berry Compote

This week’s request comes from Jenn, who asked for a yummy pancake recipe that isn’t loaded with butter. I found a great recipe on MarthaStewart.com: Whole-Wheat Pancakes with Berry Compote. It’s originally from the May 2007 issue of Martha Stewart Living. This one caught my attention for two reasons: (1) it actually doesn’t have any butter, and (2) it uses only whole-wheat flour. (Most of the recipes I’ve seen that incorporate whole-wheat flour call for a mix of whole-wheat and regular flour.) Plus, the berry compote looked amazing.

I started by whisking together the dry ingredients in a large bowl: 1 1/4 cups of whole-wheat flour, 1/4 cup of wheat germ (my first time cooking with this ingredient!), 2 tablespoons of sugar, 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda, and 1 teaspoon of coarse salt. Next, I whisked in 1 1/2 cups of low-fat buttermilk, 1/4 cup of vegetable oil, and 2 large eggs (lightly beaten). I set the batter aside to stand for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, I made the berry compote. I combined 2 cups of blueberries, 6 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice, and 1/8 teaspoon coarse salt in a small saucepan and heated the mixture over medium heat until the berries began to burst, about 5 minutes. I stirred in 1/2 cup of sugar and simmered the mixture, stirring often, until it was thick enough to coat the back of a spoon, about 8 minutes. I transferred the blueberry mixture to a bowl, stirred in 1 cup of blackberries, and set the compote aside.

During the last few minutes of the compote’s cooking time, I sprayed my Calphalon griddle pan with cooking spray and heated it over medium heat. When it was warm, I started making the pancakes, using 1 heaping tablespoon of batter per pancake. When bubbles appeared on the tops of the pancakes, I flipped them and cooked them for 2 minutes more. I kept the pancakes warm by placing them on a baking sheet in a 200 F oven as I worked through the rest of my batches. (I ended up with 18 total pancakes.) Here’s the result:

whole_wheat_pancakes_w_berry_compote.jpg

These pancakes were DELICIOUS. If I owned a bed and breakfast, these would be on the menu for sure. They were light and fluffy, and the berry compote was just perfect. In terms of flavor, I could tell these were “healthy” pancakes when I tried them without any compote (probably because they weren’t bursting with butter flavor, which is how I would describe most restaurant pancakes). They were still fabulous, though, and the compote just upped the bliss factor. Thanks for the request, Jenn – hope you give this one a try!

TIPS: I’m used to using much more than 1 tablespoon of batter when I make pancakes, but these actually weren’t that small – they were about the size of my palm. I usually make light circular motions over my batter with the back of a spoon when I first drop it on the griddle to help it spread a bit and form a more uniform circular shape.

Also, I used a paper towel to wipe my griddle clean between batches and sprayed fresh cooking spray each time. Cooking spray left on the griddle can brown (and burn), making your pancakes look burnt as well.

Recipe link: Whole-Wheat Pancakes with Berry Compote

1 Response to “Request Line! Whole-Wheat Pancakes with Berry Compote”


  1. 1 Jennifer D February 26, 2008 at 8:46 am

    I can’t wait to give these a try!!! Thanks for making these – glad they turned out! I’ll get my butter laden pancake fix at Le Peep instead 🙂


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


