Chocolate Orange Fondue

And now the Valentine’s Day finale… Dessert!

Dr. O had originally requested cheesecake, but I think a whole cheesecake is a bit much for 2 people to handle, especially before a bed-and-breakfast weekend full of yummy treats. He agreed to chocolate fondue, so I decided to try a recipe I found on FoodNetwork.com: Chocolate Orange Fondue from Ina Garten (the Barefoot Contessa).

This was another super easy one. I started by setting up my own double boiler; I brought an inch or so of water to a simmer in a medium saucepan and then placed a medium heatproof bowl over (but not in) the water. I added 7 ounces of chopped semisweet chocolate, 1/3 cup of heavy cream, 1 1/2 teaspoons of grated orange zest, 1/2 teaspoon of instant coffee, and 2 tablespoons of Grand Marnier to the bowl and stirred the mixture constantly until it was smooth.

That was it! I put half of the chocolate in a ramekin and served it with butter cookies, dried papaya, pretzels, strawberries, and bananas. (Bananas are my favorite, but the pretzels were a surprising second.) This fondue had a very distinct, delicious orange flavor. I would definitely make it again.

chocolate_orange_fondue.jpg

TIPS: Ideally, you would probably serve this in a fondue pot to keep it warm, but ours didn’t have a chance to get cold anyway. 🙂

If the “homemade double boiler” thing isn’t quite making sense, look at it this way: The mouth of the bowl should be bigger than the mouth of the saucepan. That way, the bowl will slide down into the saucepan a bit but will still sit a few inches above the bottom.

Recipe link: Chocolate Orange Fondue

2 Responses to “Chocolate Orange Fondue”


  1. 1 Jennifer D February 26, 2008 at 8:44 am

    You never cease to amaze me. All I can manage these days are few good meals on the weekend and greasy pizza during the week!


  1. 1 Chocolate-Covered Bananas « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on March 14, 2008 at 4:59 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


