Maple Oatmeal

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I love oatmeal. It’s warm, creamy and comforting. I had some heavy cream on hand from making the Chocolate Orange Fondue, so I decided to revisit an old favorite oatmeal recipe this morning – Maple Oatmeal from the March 2004 issue of Everyday Food. The original recipe serves 4 but I cooked for 2, so be sure to double the ingredients (or follow the linked recipe at the end of the post) if you want 4 servings.

I brought 2 cups of water to a boil in a medium saucepan and stirred in 1/4 teaspoon of coarse salt and 1 cup of Bob’s Red Mill Extra Thick Rolled Oats (my favorite, but any old-fashioned rolled oats will do). I reduced the heat to medium and cooked until the oatmeal was tender and creamy, about 11 minutes.

Next, I removed the pan from the heat and stirred in 2 tablespoons of heavy cream. I divided the oatmeal between two bowls and topped each serving with 1/2 tablespoon of butter, 1 tablespoon of maple syrup, and 1 tablespoon of dried cherries.

maple_oatmeal.jpg

To me, this is exactly what a “classic” oatmeal breakfast should taste like. I don’t usually use milk or cream in my oatmeal, but I think the heavy cream really adds to the fragrance and texture of this recipe. It’s absolutely delicious!

TIPS: The recipe actually says to cook the oatmeal for 8 minutes, but it really depends on how you like the consistency of your oatmeal. I just cooked it until most of the water had been absorbed.

Recipe link: Maple Oatmeal

0 Responses to “Maple Oatmeal”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


