How to Make Your Kitchen Sponges Last Longer

It’s been a busy Monday so I only have time for a short post, but hopefully, it’s one you’ll find valuable. I think I first read about microwaving kitchen sponges on MSNBC last year (this article, maybe?). We had been going through sponges like crazy… It seemed like we were picking up several packages every time we went to Target. I figured I’d give the microwave a try to see if I could extend the life of a sponge beyond a few days.

It worked like a charm! Just make sure the sponge is wet (not sopping, but dry ones will catch fire in the microwave) and microwave it on high for 2 minutes. Wait at least 10 minutes before removing it from the microwave and ringing it out; otherwise, the hot (hot!) water left in the sponge will burn your hands. If your sponge had started to give off any kind of odor, you should notice it’s gone when you take the sponge out of the microwave. I microwave my sponges every couple of days (or immediately if they’ve been in the vicinity of raw meat) and toss them when they’re worn out.

Oreo Ice Cream Cake is on the request line for tomorrow!

2 Responses to “How to Make Your Kitchen Sponges Last Longer”


  1. 1 drop-by June 21, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    🙂 Thanks. I was just looking for this.

  2. 2 jeezejulia October 24, 2009 at 4:36 am

    I just wrote a post about sponges, too! My suggestion (yours works well, too!), is to cut each sponge in half before use. That way you can turn two sponges into four! You’ll be surprised how little difference the size of the sponge makes. This way you can even get into smaller nooks & crannies than before!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


