Pureed Carrot Soup

In Dallas, we’re almost getting to the point where a hot cup of soup sounds, well… hot.  When we first moved to Texas, I thought April 1st pool parties were a joke.  Not so much.  I need to sneak this one before we hit “spring but feels like summer.”

The January/February 2008 issue of Everyday Food has a great spread on pureed vegetable soups.  There’s a basic recipe, then they gave you the exact amounts of vegetables you needed to make several variations – broccoli, cauliflower, celery root, etc.  I decided to go with the Pureed Carrot Soup.

I started by peeling 2 pounds of carrots and cutting them into 2-inch chunks.  I also chopped a medium onion.  I heated 2 tablespoons of olive oil in my Dutch oven, added the chopped onion, and stirred it occasionally until softened (about 5 minutes).  I added the carrots, 1 can of reduced-sodium chicken broth, and 4 cups of water.  Next, I upped the heat to high to bring everything to a boil.  Then, I reduced the heat to medium and simmered the soup until the carrots were tender, about 20 minutes.

I’ve been meaning to buy an immersion blender but haven’t gotten around to it, so I used my regular blender to puree the soup in 2 batches.  The trick here is to remove the blender lid and use a kitchen towel to cover the top of the blender; I guess this allows steam to escape and prevents splattering.  After each batch, I transferred the pureed soup to a clean pot and seasoned with salt, pepper, and about 2 tablespoons of lemon juice.

pureed_carrot_soup.jpg

This was a tasty, healthy soup, though I did end up having to add a decent amount of salt.  It would make a great lunch or first course at dinner.

Recipe link: Pureed Vegetable Soup
(NOTE: The Web site doesn’t actually have the carrot soup, but this link will take you to recipes for pureed beet, broccoli, butternut squash, and mushroom soups.)

0 Responses to “Pureed Carrot Soup”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


