Two-Cheese Tortilla Pizza with Arugula Salad

Here’s a nice, quick one for the work week – Two-Cheese Tortilla Pizza with Arugula Salad from the January/February 2008 issue of Everyday Food. It’s basically the same concept as the Thinnest Crust Pizza with Ricotta and Mushrooms, but I was way more impressed with the wheat flour tortilla as a pizza crust than I was with the sandwich wrap.

First, I put my oven racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven and preheated to 450 F. I divided 4 8-inch wheat flour tortillas between 2 baking sheets and brushed the tortillas with 1 teaspoon of oil (total, not per tortilla). Dividing evenly among the 4 tortillas, I topped them with 2 cans (14.5 ounces each) of drained diced tomatoes, 3/4 cup of grated part-skim mozzarella cheese, 1/4 cup of shaved Pecorino-Romano cheese, 1/4 cup of pitted Kalamata olives (halved), and 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes.

I baked the pizzas until the crust was crisp and browned (about 13 minutes), rotating the baking sheets top to bottom and front to back halfway through. While the pizzas baked, I combined 2 teaspoons of olive oil with 2 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar to make my salad dressing. As soon as the pizzas finished baking, I tossed 8 ounces of arugula with the dressing to serve.

two_cheese_tortilla_pizza.jpg

I was supposed to top the pizzas with 1/2 cup of torn basil leaves, but I totally spaced it. They were delicious anyway!

TIPS: You’re probably not going to be able to find grated or shaved Pecorino-Romano at the grocery store. I went to the specialty cheeses area of my store, bought a small piece, and shaved it with a vegetable peeler. The flavor it adds is definitely worth it.

Recipe link: Two-Cheese Tortilla Pizza with Arugula Salad

1 Response to “Two-Cheese Tortilla Pizza with Arugula Salad”



  1. 1 My Favorite Healthy Recipes « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 3, 2010 at 2:34 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


