Flank Steak with Lime Marinade

Recently, I made a resolution to improve my skills in the steak department. Tenderloin Steaks with Gorgonzola and Herbs was a good start; that was an oven experiment. I decided to give my grill pan (aka my current grill substitute) a workout with a recipe from the July/August 2005 issue of Everyday Food: Flank Steak with Lime Marinade.

First, I made my marinade. In a large, resealable plastic bag, I combined 1/3 cup of fresh lime juice (from 4 limes), 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, 2 thinly sliced scallions, 2 tablespoons of fresh ginger (peeled and minced), and 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I added a flank steak (1 1/2 pounds), sealed the bag, and placed it in a grocery bag to catch any possible leaks. I marinated the steak for 1 hour, turning it every 20 minutes.

I brushed my grill pan with olive oil and heated it over high heat. Next, I removed the steak from the marinade bag, seasoned it with salt and pepper, and placed it in the hot pan. I ended up cooking it for 6 minutes on each side. Due to the fact that the steak was thicker on one end, the results ranged from medium to medium-rare.

I removed the steak from the grill pan, put it on a cutting board, covered it with foil, and let it rest for 10 minutes. (This helps keep the meat juicy.) When the 10 minutes had passed, I thinly sliced the steak and served it with Spanish rice and black beans.

flank_steak_with_lime_marinade.jpg

Yum! The meat had great flavor because of the marinade, and I liked that it got just a bit crusty on the outside. I’ll definitely make this again.

TIPS: My thermometer fork was invaluable here (as always). I love not having to cut into dinner prior to serving to see if it’s done.

If you decide to make this on the grill, be sure to follow the instructions in the recipe link. The meat will probably cook faster.

Recipe link: Flank Steak with Lime Marinade

1 Response to “Flank Steak with Lime Marinade”



  1. 1 Happy Cinco de Mayo! « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on June 8, 2008 at 10:10 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


