Chicken with Olives and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

I’ve had my eye on today’s recipe – Chicken with Olives and Sun-Dried Tomatoes from the April 2005 issue of Everyday Food – for months (if not years!), but I just never got around to making it. Finally, I had both sun-dried tomatoes *and* Kalamata olives on hand, so I decided to make it happen.

This recipe isn’t available online, so here’s the ingredient list:

8 dry-packed sun-dried tomato halves (about 1/4 cup)
Zest of 1/2 lemon, cut into very thin strips (about 2 tablespoons)
1/2 cup Kalamata olives, pitted and halved lengthwise
1 teaspoon plus 1 tablespoon olive oil
Coarse salt and ground pepper
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (6 – 8 ounces each)

I started by bringing 3 cups of water to a boil in a small saucepan. I added the tomatoes and lemon zest, reduced the heat to a simmer, and cooked everything until the tomatoes had softened (about 5 minutes). I drained the zest and tomatoes and patted everything dry with paper towels. I sliced the tomatoes into 1/4-inch strips.

In a medium bowl, I tossed the tomato/lemon mixture with the olives, 1 teaspoon of oil, 1/4 teaspoon of salt, and a pinch of pepper. I rubbed the chicken all over with the remaining tablespoon of oil and seasoned it generously with salt and pepper. I put the chicken in a 9 x 13-inch baking dish and sprinkled it with the tomato mixture.

Finally, I covered the dish tightly with foil and baked it for 20 minutes at 450F. I let it stand for 5 minutes (still covered) before serving.

chicken_w_olives_and_sd_tomatoes.jpg

Mmm, mmm, mmm. This dish has so many characteristics that I love – exceptional flavor, great color, and very little prep work. I’m adding this one to the company-worthy list (though I might dress up the sides a bit more for guests).

TIPS: This dish can be made ahead of time, which makes me love it even more. Just put it together, cover it with foil, and put it in the refrigerator instead of the oven (up to 1 day ahead). The baking time and temperature will be the same.

1 Response to “Chicken with Olives and Sun-Dried Tomatoes”



  1. 1 My Favorite Healthy Recipes « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 3, 2010 at 2:33 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


