Guinness Bread

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, everyone! I decided to honor my Irish heritage today by making something with an Irish twist. I couldn’t commit the time to make a stew or corned beef, but I did find a terrific and simple recipe for Guinness Bread on Recipezaar.com.

This one has a short, sweet ingredient list:

3 cups self-rising flour
3/4 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 12-ounce can of Guinness stout, room temperature
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

I buttered a standard loaf pan, stirred all the ingredients together in a large bowl, poured the batter into the pan, and baked it for 45 minutes at 350 F. I let the loaf cool for 10 minutes in the pan and then turned it out onto a cooling rack. That’s it!

guinness_bread1.jpg
guinness_bread2.jpg

I wasn’t sure what to expect since the recipe was so simple, but this bread is dense, sweet and delicious. I really liked the slightly chewy crust, too. You can taste the beer ever so slightly in the aftertaste, but I don’t think you’d know it was there if you weren’t conscious of the ingredients. I plan to make this an annual tradition!

TIPS: Make sure you use self-rising flour, not all-purpose flour.

Recipe link: Guinness Bread

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


