Parfaits with Honey, Ricotta, and Raspberries

I found a new parfait recipe that I just *love* – Parfaits with Honey, Ricotta, and Raspberries from the April 2004 issue of Everyday Food. I would never have thought to combine these ingredients (the ricotta, especially), but the results are delish. Follow the recipe as is if you want a light dessert or snack. Portion sizes are on the small side, though, so you may want to double the recipe for something more substantial (like breakfast).

First, I spooned 1 tablespoon of honey into each parfait glass (4 tablespoons total). In a medium bowl, I whisked 1 cup of part-skim ricotta cheese to loosen it slightly and then spooned 1/4 cup into each glass (over the honey). Next, I added 1/4 cup of fresh raspberries to each glass (1 cup total), followed by 1 tablespoon of toasted almonds (4 tablespoons total). That was it!

parfait_honey_ricotta_rasp.jpg

As beautiful as the layers were, I thought this tasted best all stirred together. I can’t wait to make this more often as raspberries really come into season.

TIPS: To toast almonds, spread 1/4 cup (or however much) in a single layer on a baking sheet. Toast at 350F for about 7 – 10 minutes. I always take mine out as soon as I can smell them; they’re usually just slightly brown at that point. Keep a close watch because they can burn quickly.

1 Response to “Parfaits with Honey, Ricotta, and Raspberries”



  1. 1 Sweet Sundays: Fruit Salad with Cannoli Cream « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on July 7, 2008 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


