Shrimp Stir-Fry

I’m baaack! 🙂 Sorry for the gap in posts… Dr. O and I were in Vancouver/Whistler with family for Easter. It’s absolutely gorgeous and perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, but I would definitely recommend Vancouver as a culinary destination as well. We had some *amazing* sushi, our first ever bubble teas, handmade truffles, fresh crepes… It was a food adventure, for sure.

I thought I’d start the post-vacation week with one of my very favorite healthy (and flavorful!) recipes – Shrimp Stir-Fry from the September 2003 issue of Everyday Food. The food prep is a bit extensive, but this is an otherwise fast and easy recipe. Start to finish, you’ll need about 45 minutes.

This one isn’t posted online, so here’s the ingredient list:

1 pound peeled, deveined shrimp
2 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy sauce, plus more for serving
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
1 tablespoon canola oil
2 small onions, cut into wedges
9 ounces button mushrooms, quartered
1 large red bell pepper, ribs and seeds removed, cut into 1-inch squares
1 1/4 pounds bok choy, cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces, stem and green pieces separated
1/4 pound snow peas, trimmed
5 paper-thin slices fresh ginger
1 teaspoon cornstarch dissolved in 2 teaspoons cold water
Lime wedges, for serving

I started by prepping the vegetables according to the ingredient list. I group mine by bowl in the order they’ll be added to the pan. I put the onions in one bowl, the mushrooms in another, the red pepper and bok choy stems in a third, the peas and ginger in a fourth, and the bok choy greens in a fifth.

Next, I put the peeled and deveined shrimp in a shallow dish. In a bowl, I whisked together the soy sauce, rice vinegar, sesame oil and 1 tablespoon of water. I poured the marinade over the shrimp and marinated them for 5 minutes.

While the shrimp marinated, I heated the canola oil in a 12-inch nonstick skillet over high heat. I added the shrimp (reserving the marinade) and cooked them until they were golden, about 90 seconds on each side. I set the cooked shrimp aside and put the skillet back on the heat.

I added the onions and cooked them, stirring constantly, until they were browned, about 5 minutes. I added the mushrooms and cooked them (still stirring constantly – that was the case through the rest of the recipe) for 2 minutes. I added the red pepper and bok choy stems, cooking for 3 minutes. I added the peas and ginger, cooking for 1 minute. Finally, I added the reserved marinade, the dissolved cornstarch, the bok choy greens, and the cooked shrimp, cooking until everything was heated through (about 1 – 2 minutes). I served this with a bit of brown rice.

shrimp_stir_fry2.jpg

There’s just something about this recipe… It’s a good one. I love that it’s loaded with fresh veggies, and the flavor is terrific. (I think it’s the sesame oil in the marinade.) I especially love the way the sauce clings to the wilted bok choy greens – mmm, mmm, mmm.

TIPS: If you’re not a fan of shrimp, you can substitute 1 pound of firm tofu. (The recipe was actually published this way originally.) Just halve the tofu block lengthwise and then slice each half into 8 rectangles. Arrange the pieces on a paper towel-lined baking sheet. Top with more paper towels and another baking sheet, and then weight the top sheet with canned goods or a skillet. Refrigerate at least 20 minutes or up to overnight. (This squeezes the excess water out of the tofu.) From there, just marinate and cook the tofu as you would the shrimp.

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


