Request Line! Anzac Biscuits

Oh, my. What I thought would be a relatively routine baking experience has turned into a major battle between “Caribbean cruise, 8 weeks and counting” and “Oh my gosh, I *love* brown sugar. And butter. And coconut. And oats.”

Eek.

Today’s Request Line recipe is Anzac Biscuits, sent to me by my friend Christopher (a superstar requester!). It was posted as “Anzac Cookies” by Heidi at 101cookbooks.com, but after doing some research on their history, I’m going to have to call these treats “biscuits.” 🙂 “Anzac” stands for “Australian and New Zealand Army Corps,” and the original recipe was known for being extremely shelf stable (and difficult to stomach). The recipe I used today is a delicious, modern take on the recipe; I actually found a recipe just slightly different from the one Heidi posted on the Australian War Memorial site.

I started by combining my dry ingredients: 1 cup of flour, 1 cup of rolled oats, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1 cup of shredded coconut, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.

I cut a stick of butter into little cubes and placed it in a small saucepan. Next, I added my “challenge” ingredient – 2 tablespoons of golden syrup. (Golden syrup can be hard to find in the U.S., but I found some Lyle’s Golden Syrup at Sur La Table. You can substitute honey instead, if necessary.) I wanted a more traditional cookie, so I left out the orange zest.

I heated the butter and syrup in the saucepan over low heat, stirring occasionally. Meanwhile, I boiled a bit of water in my tea kettle. When the butter and syrup had melted, I removed the saucepan from the heat. I combined 1 tablespoon of boiling water and 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda in a small bowl, stirred the baking soda mixture into the butter, and then poured the butter mixture over the dry ingredients. (I left the orange blossom water in Heidi’s recipe out here as well.) I stirred the dough until the butter was evenly incorporated.

I didn’t have a cool heart pan like Heidi’s, so I just divided my dough into even tablespoonfuls. It was really moist but too loose to roll into a ball, so I formed it into little mounds on a parchment-lined baking sheet.

anzac1.jpg

I baked the cookies for 11 minutes at 325F and then let them cool 5 minutes on the baking sheet before transferring them to a cooling rack.

anzac2.jpg

I may have a new favorite cookie. I’m usually pretty good about making something and having just a bit, but I’ve eaten 3 of these (and the night isn’t over yet). They are *so* soft and chewy, and the flavor combination just can’t be beat. Mmmmmmm.

TIPS: The recipe said to use unsweetened shredded coconut, but I had the sweetened stuff in my pantry. Either works well, I’m sure.

I baked these cookies in 2 batches – one on a light-colored baking sheet and one on a dark baking sheet. The batch on the lighter sheet was perfect at 11 minutes, but if you’re using a dark sheet, you might check them at 9 or 10 minutes.

Recipe link: Anzac Cookies

0 Responses to “Request Line! Anzac Biscuits”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


