Quinoa-Couscous Cereal

Let the grain experiments (and breakfast posts) continue! Quinoa-Couscous Cereal from the June 2006 issue of Shape is a fun blend of quinoa, couscous, mixed berries, and spice.

First, I combined 1 1/2 cups of unsweetened apple juice and 1 cup of water in a medium saucepan. I brought the liquid to a simmer over medium heat.

Meanwhile, I rinsed and drained 1/2 cup of quinoa in a fine mesh strainer. I heated a medium saucepan over medium heat, added the quinoa and toasted it, stirring constantly, until the grains began to pop. (The recipe says this takes 2 – 3 minutes, but I needed more like 5.)

I added the quinoa, a mixture of dried fruits (2 tablespoons dried cranberries, 2 tablespoons dried blueberries, 2 tablespoons chopped dried apricots, and 2 tablespoons raisins), 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice to the liquid in the saucepan. I simmered the mixture, stirring occasionally, until the quinoa was clear and soft (about 12 minutes).

Then, I stirred 1/2 cup of couscous into the saucepan, removed the pan from the heat, and covered it with a lid. I let everything stand until the couscous had absorbed the liquid and was fluffy, about 5 minutes. I stirred in 1/4 cup of milk and served the cereal.

quinoa_couscous_cereal.jpg

This is another one that tasted “healthy,” but it really was delicious. The flavor from the apple juice was especially pronounced, and I loved the berry mixture.

TIPS: This makes 6 small servings, so you might want to cut the recipe in half if you’re cooking for only 1 or 2 people.

Recipe link: Quinoa-Couscous Cereal (I’m not sure if Shape got the recipe from this trainer or vice versa, but this is it.)

0 Responses to “Quinoa-Couscous Cereal”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


